We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was planning a summer vacation in Pacific Beach but didn't know anything about the area or things to do. The reservation girl Julie answered all my questions and had some great suggestions for how to plan my visit - things to do and such.

My stay was awesome. The hotel is nice, and the staff were great. Be sure to try the lobster BLT!

Room Tip: Recommend the Surf Pad oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    138
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
120
265
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location! Walking distance to everywhere in PB. Great view of ocean. Beds are super comfortable. The staff and the concierge were very great. Jordan made sure everything was perfect. Raving fan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Tower 23 June 7-9 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We arrived late and the staff were very accommodating to us. The hotel is very clean, new and comfortable. It has a modern design to it, so it feels open and airy. Our room was a nice size and had the best view in town! VIP spot for sunset watching and beach gazing. The restaurant downstairs has great breakfast and one of the best Bloody Mary's Ive had in a while. We love San Diego and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced PB, so the view is next to none. I will say that I thought the bathrooms were a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a wonderful trip to San Diego and loved staying at Tower23 Hotel. Great location, atmosphere, views and service! We received especially great service from Ivan on the 2nd floor patio/deck area.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend introduced me to this place a few years ago, now we have a longstanding tradition of spending a night hear each year post Comic-Con. Nothing washed off the funk of 100K nerds for a week faster than a jump in the ocean followed by cocktails and ahi tuna on the lounge deck of this hotel, with your feet up on the fire pit. It's the best view for sunset and surfers. The food is delicious, though the drinks could be a little bit better. The service however is top-notch. The waiters work hard for their tips and are so friendly and accommodating.

The rooms themselves are lovely and they probably have the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. It's very expensive, even split between two people. But I think you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for the rooms with ocean views. You don't stay at Pacific Beach to overlook an Ur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Went with family with small children. We loved the location right on the beach. Rooms were very nice. The hotel is beautiful, nicely decorated and clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Several in our party went to happy hour and loved the bar and bartenders. We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Tower 23 is in a most beautiful beachfront setting. The décor is contemporary with all the amenities at your fingertips. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is exceptionally good and not overpriced. That rather surprised me since the rooms are quite expensive and the restaurant and bar seem to be extremely popular. You can sit in or outside and spend an interesting time people-watching as there is a great variety of individuals moving in and out, and the wearing apparel is sometimes quite entertaining. There is a good walkway along the beach, easy access to the fishing pier, and stairways down to the beach, on which you will see lots of surfers and sunbathers. The water is quite cold--even if you only put a foot in to check the temperature. The Baked Bear has great ice cream sandwiches made to order just around the corner. The surrounding area is full of interesting restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: 214 has a view of part of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#47 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#23 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.