We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Tower23 Hat
Ranked #13 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a wonderful trip to San Diego and loved staying at Tower23 Hotel. Great location, atmosphere, views and service! We received especially great service from Ivan on the 2nd floor patio/deck area.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    120
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
98
235
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend introduced me to this place a few years ago, now we have a longstanding tradition of spending a night hear each year post Comic-Con. Nothing washed off the funk of 100K nerds for a week faster than a jump in the ocean followed by cocktails and ahi tuna on the lounge deck of this hotel, with your feet up on the fire pit. It's the best view for sunset and surfers. The food is delicious, though the drinks could be a little bit better. The service however is top-notch. The waiters work hard for their tips and are so friendly and accommodating.

The rooms themselves are lovely and they probably have the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. It's very expensive, even split between two people. But I think you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for the rooms with ocean views. You don't stay at Pacific Beach to overlook an Ur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Went with family with small children. We loved the location right on the beach. Rooms were very nice. The hotel is beautiful, nicely decorated and clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Several in our party went to happy hour and loved the bar and bartenders. We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Tower 23 is in a most beautiful beachfront setting. The décor is contemporary with all the amenities at your fingertips. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is exceptionally good and not overpriced. That rather surprised me since the rooms are quite expensive and the restaurant and bar seem to be extremely popular. You can sit in or outside and spend an interesting time people-watching as there is a great variety of individuals moving in and out, and the wearing apparel is sometimes quite entertaining. There is a good walkway along the beach, easy access to the fishing pier, and stairways down to the beach, on which you will see lots of surfers and sunbathers. The water is quite cold--even if you only put a foot in to check the temperature. The Baked Bear has great ice cream sandwiches made to order just around the corner. The surrounding area is full of interesting restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: 214 has a view of part of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I didn't even really want to write this review because I don't relish the idea of more people finding out about our favourite hotel in San Diego.

Many thanks to Allison who welcomes us to Tower 23 every year. This year marked what I believe is our fifth visit in six years. Why do we keep coming back? For one thing, the location. It's right on the beach, almost next to Crystal pier, at the end of Felspar St. The view from our beach side room on the third floor is spectacular. All year, I miss the sound of the surf and I get my fix from my room. But, it's not all about the view. They have Tempur-pedic memory foam mattresses, which make for a very restful stay, especially considering my wife's neuropathy. Some rooms have large soaker tubs (including the one we choose). The staff are incredibly friendly and professional. We especially want to shout out to Gary, one of the valet crew.

Most of what you want to do in Pacific Beach is within walking distance. Lots of shopping, restaurants, entertainment. Let's not forget the people watching.

This hotel is not for everyone. They have no pool. But we don't care. What they do have is a very large, comfortable sky deck on the second floor where you can relax, soak up the sun while looking out over the ocean and watching the surfers. You may as well take the valet parking (there is no self-park at this hotel), because finding parking on the street is going to be impossible - at least within a few blocks. One of the reasons parking is especially hard to find, is because of the beach and the fantastic restaurant JRDN which is well-known across the city. This restaurant is part of the hotel. Yes, you will probably need reservations for dinner.

The hotel seems to be doing a great job keeping the place maintained. We have looked at a lot of other rental options in Pacific Beach, but we keep coming back here.

The staff have made one change that I wish they would reverse. They used to have a Keurig coffee machine in the front lobby and now there are machines in the rooms. I appreciate that, but I always looked forward to getting up before my wife, sneaking out, grabbing a coffee and then heading to the beach. Can't do that anymore.

When choosing a room (if you have that luxury), be aware that the rooms opening onto the sky deck on the 2nd floor can be noisy in the evenings, especially on the weekends or when there's a large group that want to party hanging out on the deck. It doesn't tend to go really late, but if you're thinking you'll get to bed early in a deck-facing room, forget it. You might get the odd whiff of cigarette smoke too.

We miss the place already.

Room Tip: Best rooms are surf-side on south end of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
The secret is out -- Tower23 is an ideal destination for those seeking a beachfront locale, friendly staff and award-winning dining. Thanks for sharing it and making Tower23 part of your vacation plans year after year. Same time, same place next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuellinsdorf
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved every single aspect of the Tower23 Hotel.
Having read through some of the critical comments here we were eager to find out how everything really was. And we have to say we can not support any of the negative comments.

The location is great. The vibe is good. The service (considering that you are staying at a boutique hotel) is good. The rooms are good and all the amenities are just great.

We would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Taylor, great photos! Our partial view Sky Pads have fantastic views since the hotel is just footsteps to the beach. The next time you visit, please let us know if you see anything amiss with housekeeping as we want your stay to be nothing short of perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great location. I had room 301, one of the sky pads. Was worried that I wouldn't have an ocean view, but as you can see from the pictures, the view from the balcony was pretty amazing. The staff was friendly; maid service was spotty. Stayed for three days, during the week, and while the hotel was pretty empty (or at least it seemed so), the hotel bar was always filled.

Well worth the money; would definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.