We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower 23 - Clean and Simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #12 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tower 23 - Clean and Simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We used Tripadvisor to find a beach place. We didn't know San Diego and took chance on staying on the beach. It's a big city so cabs from the hotel to the zoo or airport will cost about $40. We didn't rent a car and it's easy to get around by walking. Pacific Beach looks like party central. Tons of great food around - Café 967 (coffee bar) we found on last day and Oscar's for fish tacos are great. Farmers Market on Wednesday night on Garnet is great too.

The hotel is very clean and fresh. The cleaners (Christina and Diego) were fantastic. They had the lobby / windows / common areas shining. My hats off to them. Raul at the desk was also very helpful getting things organized. We did a surf school with SD surf and it was right out on the beach in PB. It was perfect. The beach is great and the boardwalk out front is perfect for walking.

The rooms are ideal. Very modern feel, the bed is comfortable and they have a billion pillows on the bed. I liked all their touches with the menu / notes etc. Very spa feel. It's not a big hotel and it doesn't have a pool which would be amazing. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway in the middle of the week, this is perfect. If you want to party, this place probably rocks on the weekend. The price in November was fabulous and I would recommend this place to friends. Honestly, all the other hotels I saw from the boardwalk looked dumpy compared to T23

Room Tip: We had serenity pad 312. Nice view across the deck and we could see sunset from the room. No pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Wow! At Tower23, it is our wonderful team members that separate us from the pack. It's so kind of you to recognize their hard work. It sounds like you really took advantage of everything San Diego offers during your trip! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    103
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
73
199
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recently stayed here for 5 five days with a friend. Coming from Alabama I had no idea where anything was located but the concierge Joel was wonderful with helping us find anything. He also made great recommendations for restaurants and fun places to hang out; which was pretty much in walking distance from the hotel. Everything was very clean and neat which was my main concern since Im a slight germophobe:) I give Tower 23 4.5 stars only because theres no fitness center. A girl still wants to stay in shape while vacationing;)

Jasmine

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Everything (room, food, staff, beach location, trendy design, etc.) deserves a rating 5 BUT a pool is clearly missing (one point deduction for that). MUST DO: make sure to take a room to the front an enjoy a fantastic ocean/beach view and the sound of the waves (view to the back onto an ugly parking lot is sobering).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your recent stay! I'm so glad you enjoyed our unparalleled ocean views and beautiful rooms. While we do not have a hotel, our staff can make arrangements for you to visit the historic Plunge pool in Belmont Park. We'd be delighted to do this for you the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel and we loved it. The proximity to the beach, restaurants and nightlife, was what made our choice easy for us. The location was superb; the interior décor of the hotel was very trendy and contemporary and the customer service we received by the hotel staff was excellent (I left my Iphone charger at home and the front desk was nice enough to charge it for me). Our hotel room was very spacious and well decorated. The bathroom was very modern and roomy as compared to other hotels that I’ve stayed at, the bed was very comfortable with an abundance of pillows and the robes that the hotel room was provided with were pleasantly warm and soft. Our hotel room was located on the second floor where we could walk directly out onto the hotels terrace. It was a great place to lounge around and watch the sun set with a glass of wine in our hands. Overall, the hotel and its staff exceeded our expectations and made our beach weekend in San Diego, a great one. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location on the beach. Modern contempory rooms with great seaview. Hotel lended us a bike and we had a great ride along Pacific Beach. Complimentary internet. What else ?.... Ah I know... I happen to have forgotten a large amount of cash in the safe. Called the Manager Elisabeth from Vegas. She handled this very professionally and sent us the cash via UPS. I am so greatfull for this and really appreciated it. Warm feeling all the way !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a reservation to stay here earlier this week but canceled after arriving at the hotel. The website is completely misleading - this hotel is merely a glorified motel for the price of of a luxury hotel. We had a reservation for an ocean view room for $350/night, however, the location in Pacific Beach (regardless of being on the beach) and the quality of the hotel and the everything else really only justifies a $150-$200/night motel. Pacific Beach may be just down the beach from La Jolla but it is worlds away. Pacific Beach is a rather run down old beach town and it does not get nicer as you get near the hotel. Tower 23 is in the parking lot of a Brandy Melville and Urban Outfitters stores. We have stayed in many luxury modern hotels and Tower 23 is a cheap imitation of them. Even though we were turned off buy the area and the low quality of the motel we decided to check in and just stay the night. However, after we checked in, we continued to be disappointed - music poured into our ocean front room from the restaurant downstairs (2 floors below). The rooms were basic and not luxurious at all. Even after moving into another ocean front room (that was supposedly an upgrade), we stepped out onto our balcony and were disappointed again. The music and noise from below continued, but this time, if we looked left or right from our balcony, you saw piles of trash and other equipment from the hotel or other nearby businesses. You could only look straight ahead in order to have a nice view. In sum, this hotel does not meet expectations. If we had been paying $200 or below a night, we would have sucked it up and stayed the night, but at $350 a night, it was such a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT that we chose to pay a cancellation fee in order to not have to stay at the hotel. We ended up at another hotel that night that met all our expectations. Do not stay here is you expect a nice quality hotel in a nice area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are in the quintessential So-Cal beach town of Pacific Beach. While different form neighboring La Jolla, PB offers visitors a vibrant boardwalk, beach-chic shopping and iconic Crystal Pier. Recently listed in Conde Nast's annual Top 25 Hotels in Southern California, Tower23 features sweeping ocean views, minimalist design and luxury appointments.

I am truly sorry you were disappointed in your stay. I hope you found a hotel that better suited your needs and enjoyed your travels to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is nicely located if you want to be right on the water (Pacific Beach), close to a scenic pier for fishing and right on the boardwalk to people watching. Walked just steps out of our hotel to get a morning walk on the beach. The food in the restaurant was very good and the bar/restaurant was extremely vibrant at night when it was filled with people in their 20's and 30's. They advertise their great beds, and our bed was good. We had a partial ocean view from our balcony, which meant we had to angle our chairs a bit to look at it. Great 2nd floor terrace with plenty of seating for about 20 people - all facing the ocean-and there's bar service for the terrace.
Only strange thing to me was that the sliding frosted door to the bathroom did not actually cover the door opening, so there's about a one-inch gap allowing for less privacy than some people might want.

Room Tip: Would not have wanted to get a room right on the second floor terrace because the terrace was often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.