We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #10 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in Tower 23 for 3 nights in surf pad rooms. The view is amazing and to hear the sound of the waves is so relaxing. Staff is nice service is great. Nothing to complain about. Tried the hotel restaurant which is pleasant and always crowded. We did celebrate my husband's birthday and the waitress was very helpful. Valet parking little pricey but effective and practical so go for it! You can have breakfast at the hotel or better at a small cafe "kono" for the vibe. My teen daughters took bicycles from the hotel for a quick ride on the boardwalk. Great experience in San Diego

Room Tip: Choose the surf pad rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    107
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
79
206
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Arrived early as we'd been at a local hotel and had to check out. We were happy to drop our bags off but the girl at reception said she'd get onto housekeeping and move our check in time forward.

In the meantime the concierge gave us a couple of bikes for a complimentary bike ride so we could go for breakfast and a bit of a cycle around San Diego. Great service.

We nipped back to get some sun cream and our room was ready! Bags were in our room so we grabbed our sun cream and off we went on the bikes again (cycled round the bay area which is worth a look if you get a chance).

It was our third wedding anniversary and the hotel really did pull out the stops for us which was really appreciated. The hotel is not cheap but for a couple of days it's really nice, is in a brilliant location and the service is superb.

Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and really enjoyed the hotel. Staff very friendly and on top of everything. Perfect location right on the beach and close to lots of restaurants and bars. The hotel restaurant is great and packed every night we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with access to the 2nd floor deck that looked directly out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at Tower 23 at Pacific Beach, CA. We couldn't have been more pleased! I had read the reviews before reserving the hotel, and all of the great reviews were right on! Jackie, their concierge, was amazing...from helping us have an much needed earlier check-in, to dinner reservations, use of hotel bikes and a special treat for our Wedding Anniversary! She and Steve (the food and beverage mgr.) were exceptional in every way. But, everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. We were thrilled with our Surf Pad room that looked down on the boardwalk and out to the sea and all the surfers! We were never bored. The hotel is in easy walking distance (or biking) to many restaurants and bars, as well as the great one at the hotel. You can't go wrong if you are looking for a wonderful beach vacation in a beautiful environment!

Room Tip: The surf pad rooms are a little more pricey, I think, but well worth it if you can! Wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is simply a great hotel!

From the Surf Pads you have uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. The bar is great - and popular - and everyone works hard to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as it can be. From the terrace on the 2nd floor you can lounge, sunbathe, eat, and drink, and the great staff make a real effort to ensure that you are comfortable!

The area around the hotel is lively with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. If you are coming to San Diego it is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the Surf Pads have full sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Tower23 during a trip around California last month. Our offspring are 18 and 21 so we ended up with 2 rooms on the 2nd floor (1st floor if you are in the UK!) one a "Surfpad" directly overlooking the beach the other a "Spirtpad" by the sun-deck. The hotel describes itself as minimalist but this isn't at the expense of comfort and both rooms were well equipped with very comfortable beds (I think they were Tempur mattresses) and nice pillows - for once neither too soft or rock hard. The rooms were also equipped with nice additional features such as power sockets with integrated USB chargers and there was very good high speed wireless internet throughout the hotel (included in our room costs) - very useful if you need to stay connected. The sun terrace was a short walk from our room and had a fair number of very comfortable sun loungers some of which were along the front of the hotel providing sea views. You could order food and drinks on the deck and service was very good and it was a lovely facility.

The hotel location is outstanding. Previously when visiting San Diego we had stayed at Paradise Point but with adult children we were looking for somewhere where we could use the beach but which also had other opportunities for fun nearby. We also enjoy jogging and walking so this proved to be close to perfect. The hotel was directly on the boardwalk which allowed a lovely morning jog along the front down to lifeguard tower 15 and the amusement park (around 3.5 miles round trip) - you could go further if you had the energy. There were numerous restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and of course the beach was only 50 meters across the boardwalk (the hotel would provide beach towels). When we visited the area directly opposite was used by surfers and swimming was about 250 metres down the beach, all of which had lifeguards on duty during the day. Sitting on the balcony of an evening was nice for a short rest and there was always activity the area was full of life - the double glazed doors allowed you to shut it out when it was time for bed.

We ate in the hotel a couple of nights, once in the bar and the other time in the restaurant - the food was very good in both cases with good service and the bar was very lively and clearly popular with both other tourists and locals as well as hotel residents.

A few other notes of potential interest: The hotel does not have a pool and with relatively large waves on the beach this might be an issue for those with small children - although this isn't really the hotel's target market. There is valet only parking in the hotel and parking elsewhere could be tricky as its very busy with many restrictions. Sea World is only a 15 minutes drive but there are bus stops nearby with busses to both Sea World and Old Town which is worth a visit - we planned to use them but in the end we drove as we went other places as well. The busses seemed to be pretty regular and provided options if we wanted to do different things of a day.

In summary, my personal view is that with young children I would look elsewhere. However, for our purposes the hotel was great and met all of our expectations. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed and the location excellent with plenty to do in the area and many good restaurants. I would certainly select the same hotel next time I visit San Diego.

Room Tip: Some rooms are over the bar and I don't know how much noise will be heard in the rooms directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feedback.

And you are correct we do in fact have Tempur-Pedic mattresses, which are wonderful for relaxing in after a long day at the beach or walking around the local shops in Pacific Beach. I hope you are able to stay with us again next time you come to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in Tower23 for 3 nights. The staff was wonderful. Great location, though the town of PB could use a lot of TLC when it comes to the cleanliness of the sidewalks and streets.
Wonderful surfing and easy access to board rentals.

Hotel room was clean, crisp and fresh. Beautiful views from 2nd floor deck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.