We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They aim to please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #10 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They aim to please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Perfect place to stay in PB. Celebrated my husbands birthday last week and stayed at T23 for 4 days. The staff did an excellent job - from my experience booking to check out I have nothing to complain about. Attention to detail, caring staff, energetic staff. Way to go T23 - will stay here again and recommend to everyone. Thanks for making this a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    107
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
79
206
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a great one-night stay at T23 and wish it was longer!

Spotless room with clean-lined, modern furnishings, spacious bathroom and wonderfully comfortable bed. Outstanding service from the valet, to reception, dining room/bar and room service. No pool but if you don't mind braving the fresh waters of the Pacific, the hotel will lend you beach towels.

Great location right on the beach, with a great beach-side walking/running/cycling path for the energetic. While safe, the area is a little grimy with a 'frat boy/party town' kind of vibe, which means the food options nearby are price-driven and limited in quality (Denny's anyone?) although we did find a decent sushi restaurant close by. For quality food you'll need to get in the car and drive up to La Jolla, only 5 minutes away.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if in San Diego.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms were stunning and much quieter than the full ocean-view rooms, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our little stay at Tower 23 and we can't wait to go back. Everything about our stay was fantastic. From the second we walked in to the second we left we felt like we were taken care of. The room was perfect for our get away. Fresh, crisp, and clean linens were on the fabulous king size bed. The modern bathroom was a great way to relax after wandering on the boardwalk. There was never a no from the staff. Room service was excellent and prompt. Our view from the Sanctuary Suite was exactly like the pictures you see. JRDN was AMAZING!! The best dining experience we have ever had. We are recommending Tower 23 to all our friends. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay on the third story with private balcony to enjoy the sunset in private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our best to accommodate all of our guest's requests to help make their stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martensville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location and staff with modern clean rooms. The front desk staff offered us a complimentary cocktail at check in and it was served to us in our room within moments of entering. Nice touch :)
We had a perfect nights stay! I found the rates to be reasonable and would recommend Tower 23 without hesitation. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Mt wife and I spent three nights at this hotel recently. We have travelled the world extensively and have stayed at many 4-5 star hotels and were disappointed with Tower 23 in terms of the value that it provided. The area in which the hotel is situated is a little grimy and if we knew the surrounding area, we would have rather booked a hotel at La Jolla. Tower 23 stands out in the area as it is seemingly a "high end" hotel in a rather "down town" area? The beds were very uncomfortable and the food pricy. It is not that the hotel is not a "hip" hotel, it is rather that the rate is not consistent with the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a spectacular experience at Tower 23. We were recommended to stay here by 2 sets of friends, and we're so glad we listened to them. The hotel is located right along the beach and every room has a partial/full view of the ocean.

The minute we walked in, we were greeted by a friendly concierge and received a view upgrade to our room. Our luggages were already neatly placed by the time we walked into our room. The entire room and the towels smelt like fresh laundry every day, and there was prompt turn down service every night. The hotel has strong wifi throughout its room and premises, has a great restaurant and bar called JRDN with excellent service (we had a delicious breakfast there one morning, and literally listened to the ocean waves as we were sipping our coffee), and also offers complimentary bikes to all hotel guests to ride along the Pacific Beach boardwalk.

We were most impressed with their head concierge - Jackie - who delivered above and beyond by giving us a surprise bottle of champagne for my birthday as well as a list of recommended activities and restaurants to visit during our stay. She also offered to make reservations for us, which was great.

Tower 23 has everything a boutique hotel should strive to have and truly exceeded our expectations with the level of service they offered. We will definitely be recommending Tower 23 to all of our friends who plan on visiting San Diego, and we look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top (3rd) floor if possible (the Sky Deck is on the 2nd floor). Sky Pad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the Tower 23 Hotel. Great room, nice view, the service was excelent!
The hotel is located in a great area on Pacific Beach with close restaurants and stors.
The restaurant in the Hotel is amazing, JRND. the hotel rent cordially bikes to ride cinto the beach. I really love it. Hope to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.