We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Are Going Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #13 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“We Are Going Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our little stay at Tower 23 and we can't wait to go back. Everything about our stay was fantastic. From the second we walked in to the second we left we felt like we were taken care of. The room was perfect for our get away. Fresh, crisp, and clean linens were on the fabulous king size bed. The modern bathroom was a great way to relax after wandering on the boardwalk. There was never a no from the staff. Room service was excellent and prompt. Our view from the Sanctuary Suite was exactly like the pictures you see. JRDN was AMAZING!! The best dining experience we have ever had. We are recommending Tower 23 to all our friends. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay on the third story with private balcony to enjoy the sunset in private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our best to accommodate all of our guest's requests to help make their stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    107
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
83
209
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martensville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location and staff with modern clean rooms. The front desk staff offered us a complimentary cocktail at check in and it was served to us in our room within moments of entering. Nice touch :)
We had a perfect nights stay! I found the rates to be reasonable and would recommend Tower 23 without hesitation. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Mt wife and I spent three nights at this hotel recently. We have travelled the world extensively and have stayed at many 4-5 star hotels and were disappointed with Tower 23 in terms of the value that it provided. The area in which the hotel is situated is a little grimy and if we knew the surrounding area, we would have rather booked a hotel at La Jolla. Tower 23 stands out in the area as it is seemingly a "high end" hotel in a rather "down town" area? The beds were very uncomfortable and the food pricy. It is not that the hotel is not a "hip" hotel, it is rather that the rate is not consistent with the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a spectacular experience at Tower 23. We were recommended to stay here by 2 sets of friends, and we're so glad we listened to them. The hotel is located right along the beach and every room has a partial/full view of the ocean.

The minute we walked in, we were greeted by a friendly concierge and received a view upgrade to our room. Our luggages were already neatly placed by the time we walked into our room. The entire room and the towels smelt like fresh laundry every day, and there was prompt turn down service every night. The hotel has strong wifi throughout its room and premises, has a great restaurant and bar called JRDN with excellent service (we had a delicious breakfast there one morning, and literally listened to the ocean waves as we were sipping our coffee), and also offers complimentary bikes to all hotel guests to ride along the Pacific Beach boardwalk.

We were most impressed with their head concierge - Jackie - who delivered above and beyond by giving us a surprise bottle of champagne for my birthday as well as a list of recommended activities and restaurants to visit during our stay. She also offered to make reservations for us, which was great.

Tower 23 has everything a boutique hotel should strive to have and truly exceeded our expectations with the level of service they offered. We will definitely be recommending Tower 23 to all of our friends who plan on visiting San Diego, and we look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top (3rd) floor if possible (the Sky Deck is on the 2nd floor). Sky Pad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the Tower 23 Hotel. Great room, nice view, the service was excelent!
The hotel is located in a great area on Pacific Beach with close restaurants and stors.
The restaurant in the Hotel is amazing, JRND. the hotel rent cordially bikes to ride cinto the beach. I really love it. Hope to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For over $500 a night, I was expecting something more than a pleasant three star lodging. My first clue was the single person casual check in area. Second clue was there was no open restroom until 9 AM. And with the Pacific Ocean only 64F, an outdoor swimming pool would have been much appreciated.

The hall carpets are old, with the room's only slightly better. The layout of the room however is very impressive, and the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom amenities are also top-notch, and the staff uniformly friendly and providing excellent service.

All in all, I would stay there again gladly, now knowing what to expect. But I would hold out for a lower price; especially as mid April is not exactly high season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed for 5 nights at Tower23 while on Spring Break in San Diego with my 18-year old daughter on a father-daughter trip. It was a perfect location for us, for the southern California beach experience, right on Pacific Beach at the Crystal Pier.

Everything was excellent at the hotel. We stayed in what is called a Spirit Pad on the south wing of the 3rd floor. It was exceptionally quiet and the sleep quality was excellent. Service was outstanding.

I particularly enjoyed the Hawaiian breakfast and coffee shack, Kono's, which is right next door. The hotel has beach cruiser bicycles for free, which I took advantage of early each morning (after breakfast at Kono's) to ride on the bike path along the beach to the end of Mission Beach and back (takes about an hour round-trip). We had dinner one evening at JRDN, and it was excellent (and expensive). We enjoyed several sunsets from the bike path at Pacific Beach, and Belmont Park and the famous Giant Dipper roller coaster and Wave House are nearby at Mission Beach. We spent a day seeing the sights in La Jolla, which is just to the north. Sea World is nearby in Mission Bay. It was only about a 15 minute drive to Old Town, the Zoo, Fashion Valley, and downtown, and the location was great for us. I would not recommend the hotel for small children (the hotel is not marketed for small children and has no pool). Valet parking was fast and easy.

I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you want the southern California beach experience while being in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.