We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in San Diego!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Tower23 Hat
Ranked #12 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The place to be in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a spectacular experience at Tower 23. We were recommended to stay here by 2 sets of friends, and we're so glad we listened to them. The hotel is located right along the beach and every room has a partial/full view of the ocean.

The minute we walked in, we were greeted by a friendly concierge and received a view upgrade to our room. Our luggages were already neatly placed by the time we walked into our room. The entire room and the towels smelt like fresh laundry every day, and there was prompt turn down service every night. The hotel has strong wifi throughout its room and premises, has a great restaurant and bar called JRDN with excellent service (we had a delicious breakfast there one morning, and literally listened to the ocean waves as we were sipping our coffee), and also offers complimentary bikes to all hotel guests to ride along the Pacific Beach boardwalk.

We were most impressed with their head concierge - Jackie - who delivered above and beyond by giving us a surprise bottle of champagne for my birthday as well as a list of recommended activities and restaurants to visit during our stay. She also offered to make reservations for us, which was great.

Tower 23 has everything a boutique hotel should strive to have and truly exceeded our expectations with the level of service they offered. We will definitely be recommending Tower 23 to all of our friends who plan on visiting San Diego, and we look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top (3rd) floor if possible (the Sky Deck is on the 2nd floor). Sky Pad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    116
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
90
223
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the Tower 23 Hotel. Great room, nice view, the service was excelent!
The hotel is located in a great area on Pacific Beach with close restaurants and stors.
The restaurant in the Hotel is amazing, JRND. the hotel rent cordially bikes to ride cinto the beach. I really love it. Hope to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For over $500 a night, I was expecting something more than a pleasant three star lodging. My first clue was the single person casual check in area. Second clue was there was no open restroom until 9 AM. And with the Pacific Ocean only 64F, an outdoor swimming pool would have been much appreciated.

The hall carpets are old, with the room's only slightly better. The layout of the room however is very impressive, and the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom amenities are also top-notch, and the staff uniformly friendly and providing excellent service.

All in all, I would stay there again gladly, now knowing what to expect. But I would hold out for a lower price; especially as mid April is not exactly high season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed for 5 nights at Tower23 while on Spring Break in San Diego with my 18-year old daughter on a father-daughter trip. It was a perfect location for us, for the southern California beach experience, right on Pacific Beach at the Crystal Pier.

Everything was excellent at the hotel. We stayed in what is called a Spirit Pad on the south wing of the 3rd floor. It was exceptionally quiet and the sleep quality was excellent. Service was outstanding.

I particularly enjoyed the Hawaiian breakfast and coffee shack, Kono's, which is right next door. The hotel has beach cruiser bicycles for free, which I took advantage of early each morning (after breakfast at Kono's) to ride on the bike path along the beach to the end of Mission Beach and back (takes about an hour round-trip). We had dinner one evening at JRDN, and it was excellent (and expensive). We enjoyed several sunsets from the bike path at Pacific Beach, and Belmont Park and the famous Giant Dipper roller coaster and Wave House are nearby at Mission Beach. We spent a day seeing the sights in La Jolla, which is just to the north. Sea World is nearby in Mission Bay. It was only about a 15 minute drive to Old Town, the Zoo, Fashion Valley, and downtown, and the location was great for us. I would not recommend the hotel for small children (the hotel is not marketed for small children and has no pool). Valet parking was fast and easy.

I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you want the southern California beach experience while being in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Tower23 is the best hotel in Pacific Beach - for a reason. The 44 rooms are top notch modern, feature an AWESOME bed (by far the best we had in the US) and make you feel at home, all directly on the beach. We had a Skypad room that was among the best of rooms on our trip. Housekeeping and quality of rooms & facilities was outstanding.
Plenty of dining & drinking options nearby (on the beach, Garnet Ave). La Jolla Cove is just a short drive away. The terrace of Tower23 is second to none and has stunning views of the ocean and the pier nearby. Pretty much because everything is so good the rather poor quality of service is a major blow. While there have been gems among the staff, our overall impression was that the service does not live up to the promise of the hotel. A non-working keycard resulted in major distractions of the front office staff, waiters at the deck/terrace were hardly attentive, no help with the luggage offered upon arrival, no valet anymore after 12am, etc. The service drawback is especially sad as the hotel & location & facilities are so beautiful! However, I would go to Tower23 again anytime still & we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tower 23. The location is great, right next to the Crystal Pier. We had the full oceanview room 321 and were treated to a very nice sunset every evening. The staff was very friendly and eager to do anything we asked. JRDN is a very pricey restaurant, but not unreasonable considering the excellent quality of their food. The bar is a monster hotspot for the thirty-something crowd every evening. If you're traveling on a budget, there are several restaurants and pubs nearby, including a Kono's and a Denny's just across the street for breakfast. We especially enjoyed The Green Flash which is a Key West style seafood restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the south wing (San Diego side) if you want to get away from the noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We transferred up here from the downtown Sheraton for the last few days of a trip and we wished we'd come earlier. We paid the same price as at the Sheraton but this was so much better - calm, comfortable, everything tasteful, everything easy, no hassle. We positively looked forward to getting back to our room and our balcony, it was such a great environment and so relaxing. This stretch of Pacific Beach is very beautiful, with plenty of people to look at and plenty of beach front bars and eateries. Service in the hotel was impeccable, from the cheery bellboy to the car valets and the front desk staff, who gave us better tips than the ill-informed official concierge service at the Sheraton (thanks so much to the lady who recommended Cafe 976, an idyll up the road!). The food is good but I would stick to the smaller plates you can get on the superb outside decking - the restaurant is perhaps a little overpriced for what it delivers (we only ate there once and didn't go back). Overall, a great experience, which is very rare for us on our travels through the hotels of the world!

Room Tip: Probably third floor is better to avoid bar and restaurant noise; we had a surf pad with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.