We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay at Tower23” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #12 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay at Tower23”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed for 5 nights at Tower23 while on Spring Break in San Diego with my 18-year old daughter on a father-daughter trip. It was a perfect location for us, for the southern California beach experience, right on Pacific Beach at the Crystal Pier.

Everything was excellent at the hotel. We stayed in what is called a Spirit Pad on the south wing of the 3rd floor. It was exceptionally quiet and the sleep quality was excellent. Service was outstanding.

I particularly enjoyed the Hawaiian breakfast and coffee shack, Kono's, which is right next door. The hotel has beach cruiser bicycles for free, which I took advantage of early each morning (after breakfast at Kono's) to ride on the bike path along the beach to the end of Mission Beach and back (takes about an hour round-trip). We had dinner one evening at JRDN, and it was excellent (and expensive). We enjoyed several sunsets from the bike path at Pacific Beach, and Belmont Park and the famous Giant Dipper roller coaster and Wave House are nearby at Mission Beach. We spent a day seeing the sights in La Jolla, which is just to the north. Sea World is nearby in Mission Bay. It was only about a 15 minute drive to Old Town, the Zoo, Fashion Valley, and downtown, and the location was great for us. I would not recommend the hotel for small children (the hotel is not marketed for small children and has no pool). Valet parking was fast and easy.

I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you want the southern California beach experience while being in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    108
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
85
210
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Tower23 is the best hotel in Pacific Beach - for a reason. The 44 rooms are top notch modern, feature an AWESOME bed (by far the best we had in the US) and make you feel at home, all directly on the beach. We had a Skypad room that was among the best of rooms on our trip. Housekeeping and quality of rooms & facilities was outstanding.
Plenty of dining & drinking options nearby (on the beach, Garnet Ave). La Jolla Cove is just a short drive away. The terrace of Tower23 is second to none and has stunning views of the ocean and the pier nearby. Pretty much because everything is so good the rather poor quality of service is a major blow. While there have been gems among the staff, our overall impression was that the service does not live up to the promise of the hotel. A non-working keycard resulted in major distractions of the front office staff, waiters at the deck/terrace were hardly attentive, no help with the luggage offered upon arrival, no valet anymore after 12am, etc. The service drawback is especially sad as the hotel & location & facilities are so beautiful! However, I would go to Tower23 again anytime still & we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tower 23. The location is great, right next to the Crystal Pier. We had the full oceanview room 321 and were treated to a very nice sunset every evening. The staff was very friendly and eager to do anything we asked. JRDN is a very pricey restaurant, but not unreasonable considering the excellent quality of their food. The bar is a monster hotspot for the thirty-something crowd every evening. If you're traveling on a budget, there are several restaurants and pubs nearby, including a Kono's and a Denny's just across the street for breakfast. We especially enjoyed The Green Flash which is a Key West style seafood restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the south wing (San Diego side) if you want to get away from the noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We transferred up here from the downtown Sheraton for the last few days of a trip and we wished we'd come earlier. We paid the same price as at the Sheraton but this was so much better - calm, comfortable, everything tasteful, everything easy, no hassle. We positively looked forward to getting back to our room and our balcony, it was such a great environment and so relaxing. This stretch of Pacific Beach is very beautiful, with plenty of people to look at and plenty of beach front bars and eateries. Service in the hotel was impeccable, from the cheery bellboy to the car valets and the front desk staff, who gave us better tips than the ill-informed official concierge service at the Sheraton (thanks so much to the lady who recommended Cafe 976, an idyll up the road!). The food is good but I would stick to the smaller plates you can get on the superb outside decking - the restaurant is perhaps a little overpriced for what it delivers (we only ate there once and didn't go back). Overall, a great experience, which is very rare for us on our travels through the hotels of the world!

Room Tip: Probably third floor is better to avoid bar and restaurant noise; we had a surf pad with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Modern sea front hotel in Pacific Beach, San Diego. Large rooms, comfortable beds, stunning water front location, good aircon, ten blocks from I-5. Fifteen minutes to downtown restaurants.

Pros - A stylish oasis in Pacific Beach. Amazing position right on the water. Rooms large, well sound proofed ( we'd been worried about some of the reviews saying the walls were paper thin ), bright and comfortable. Private balconies great for catching the afternoon rays. We slept with the windows open to the sound of the surf. Think of the Mondrian but on the ocean. Valet parking $20 a day which we thought reasonable.

Cons - Other Trip Advisor reviews have commented on the staff. Some are great others decidedly less so. Ground floor restaurant and bar gets very busy and very noisy . Pacific Beach with its drifters has an edge which some might not like.

Sum up. Get a room on the ocean. It may cost a little more but is well worth it. A bit like the Delano in its early , relatively undiscovered ,South Beach days. As a number of reviews have noted the American women behind the font desk are really helpful, other staff disconcertingly aloof and uninterested. Couldn't work out if it was down to SoCal chill or misplaced pretentiousness. This place would be great if they could get the staff right. Certainly it's a cut above anything else around although if you're older than 35 then La Jolla might be a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront rooms. Why stay on the ocean of you can't get a direct view ? Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We decided to splurge for the first night of our anniversary trip, and I am so happy we did. The hotel is elegant and sophisticated. Excellent: bed, pillows and linens, shower and toiletries. The chairs on the sun deck were perfect- provided a block from the cool ocean breeze and still allowed for a lovely view.
They even brought amazing chocolate covered strawberries to our room as I had mentioned our anniversary!
No coffee in room, but large selection of Kuereg in lobby. Go next door to Kono's for breakfast. Fabulous and super affordable.
Unlikely we will find ourselves in the area again, but if you can do it-- go there!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was about a 20 minute ride from the San Diego Airport. Check-in was prompt and friendly, they sent up welcome cocktails for us. They also had a bottle of champagne in the room for our Anniversary. The location was perfect, within walking distance to restaurants, bars & a grocery store. The view was beautiful. Our room was clean, located on the 2nd floor and opened to a community patio (which we really enjoyed). I imagine some would think this was not private, but we liked it. The size of the patio area was great, it had a fire pit and lounge chairs. There was a wait staff so we were able to order appetizers and drinks as we enjoyed sitting outside. The only 2 drawbacks we encountered was the lack of a swimming pool and paper thin walls between the rooms. We had drinks at the bar/restaurant JRDN which was very nice. You can sit inside or outside. Next door we found a great little place for coffee, usually a long line but it moved fast . We walked to dinner about a block away to Fat Fish Cantina. They have a wonderful Lobster Bisque. There was a lot to do in San Diego, we only had 4 days but went to see the San Diego Zoo, the USS Midway Museum, Gas light district and Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.