We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Modern Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Contemporary Modern Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and loved the location. There is a great lounging area where you can overlook the ocean, while sitting there we actually saw dolphins swim by. If you are looking for a pool or hot tub it is not here but the service was amazing and the bed is super comfy. We bought a vacation package through Expedia and saved on the rate. It is more pricey and there are lots of options on PB beach. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    138
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
120
265
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent two nights here during a journey down the Pacific Coast Highway. We had considered a number of hotels in downtown San Diego but settled on Tower23 as the location looked good and prices were reasonable compared with downtown options. We weren't disappointed.

Although this hotel is few miles out of town, we found the location perfect. You're right on the beach, and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops within just a few minutes' walk. We hired bikes to explore up and down the beachfront.

When we went into town, we took a cab (about $40). We hopped on the bus back and found it was quick, if you check the timetable so you don't have to hang around to catch one. You can also drive, which is what I imagine most people do.

We stayed in a Sky Pad which had a partial ocean view from the balcony. The room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated, if a little plain. It could've done with a few more pictures on the walls or the odd extra design flourish, like those evident in the hotel's communal areas.

Having said that, it was a good size, and it was great to have a balcony, from which we enjoyed drinks and breakfast.

Service was friendly and efficient. On check in we were offered a welcome cocktail (a nice touch). I think overnight parking is $20 a night, but we parked for free in a space right out front the hotel. It might be harder to find a spot in peak season, but I imagine you'd find one in the surrounding streets easily enough.

The bar and restaurant really made this hotel for us. An imaginative cocktail menu and superb food (including some excellent sliders) meant we spent more time in the hotel bar than we'd expected. There's also a happy hour which offers better value for money.

Overall, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 201 which had partial ocean views from the balcony. You may need to pay more for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My best friend and I went to San Diego for a Dwell contemporary home tour. What better place to stay then a hip, beachfront hotel with a contemporary design aesthetic? We were in a "spirit pad" room, not ocean front, but right off the large ocean front patio with fire pit and amazing view. It was very quiet with comfy beds and lots of down pillows. We had room service breakfast and while expensive, it was very filling and tasty - we ate outside in our own little patio enjoying a sunny fall day. Only issues were the the barely existent water pressure and lack of TV channels. Even so, I will stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ultra modern, and right on the beach, amazing views! Recommend more for a romantic getaway than with the family, but still close enough to everything...the deck with firepit was great for an evening with a glass of wine...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great small hotel, felt very similar to a mini W hotel, we had surf pad rooms which has a fantastic view over the terrace of the sea and pier.
The sun goes down right in front of the hotel, great to sit and watch the sun go down with a glass of wine, and in October when we went being a bit chilly in the evening they provide fleece blankets and a fire pit is alight.
The Resturant food was fantastic with great steaks.
A modern hotel, but very comfortable.
Next door is bike hire
This hotel does not have a pool, but the beach is steps away.

Room Tip: Surf pads have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband I stayed in an ocean front room and loved seeing and hearing the ocean. Great location for walking around, people watching, having drinks etc. The hotel found out we were celebrating an Anniversary and sent up a bottle of champage! Nice touch. One night we decided to relax up on the outdoor area in front of the fire and have some drinks and food. Very nice setting over looking the ocean. The food was really nice. Our server, Phillip, was really great! He was very attentive and provided exceptional service - even gave us some interesting local info! Very enjoyable night! Thanks Phillip!
We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at Tower 23 for 3 nights and loved it. The staff was always helpful, friendly and smiling (even the housekeeping lady!) which is rare these days. The location is tremendous, right on the beach. I enjoyed stepping out on my balcony and listening to the surf and watching all the people go by as well as the surfers in the water.
The restaurant was also top notch. I highly recommend the Tuna Spring Rolls! The only reason I don't give 5 stars actually has nothing to do with the hotel. The hotel is near a street full of restaurants & bars and is also near a college. I stayed on Halloween weekend and the streets were full of costumed Halloween partiers and police until the wee hours, which made it a bit hard to get to sleep. I had to turn on the bathroom fan to partially drown out the noise after midnight! The people watching was fun, and I don't really see any way the hotel could help this issue, and for me, it was not a deal breaker. If you love the beach, great service, clean rooms, comfortable beds, in a vibrant, fun and socially active area, this is the place for you!! STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Expect a bit of street noise from a young party crowd from rooms on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#47 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.