We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #10 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Fontainebleau, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Located right on Pacific Beach, adjacent to KONO's, this hotel is perfectly perched! The breathtaking sunsets over the pacific, the amazing restaurant and the easy accessibility to the beach make this Boutique hotel a great choice for beach bummers n wannabe surfers. From the welcome champagne to the final breakfast at Kono's, this hotel made for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    107
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
79
206
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

It's a good looking hotel in a brilliant location, looking right over the beach. There is a lovely deck on the second floor with comfy loungers which means you can enjoy the sun without the sand :) It's about 10 mins drive to the airport and about 15 mins to the city centre.

We had some food one evening, but weren't blown away. There are lots of other options walking distance from the hotel.

Valet parking overnight is $20 which is a bit expensive. There is very limited free street parking on Fespar St right outside the hotel.

All in all, friendly staff and a great location with brilliant views. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

got the surf pad on 2nd floor with beautiful ocean view. Listened to the ocean waves crashing that lulled us to sleep. Some noise from 3rd floor and outside middle of nice but it was ok . Good location with pathway to walk the PB, Staff was so nice (concierge, restaurant staff). Went for birthday dinner and got to choose our own table (corner booth inside), and they brought a card and birthday dessert for boyfriend for his birthday. Food was great, esp oysters and lobster. It was rainy so didn't get to enjoy the firepit outside. Restaurant cleared out quite early 11pm but we went on a weekday.. Bar was energetic and fun.

Room Tip: Surf pad with ocean full view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stop your researching now! this is the best spot in San Diego. If you are looking for the best area to watch sunsets, people, surfers and enjoy yourself you have found it. I must have researched all of San Diego before I settled on Tower 23. I made an excellent choice, and my wife was thrilled!! We spent our 24th year anniversary at Tower 23. The staff was excellent we had a bottle of complementary champagne in our room and a nice note congratulating us, they also brought us up a commentary drink when we checked in. The room was great we had a partial view of the ocean and boardwalk. The best feature of this hotel is the sundeck, it’s breath taking at night. You can bring your own drinks out, or you can order…very relaxing. A special thank you to Ace he was our server up on the sun deck exceptional young man, great service and excellent conversation was enjoyed with him by my wife and I. A tip if you have a car get the free voucher from TripAdvisor, we tipped the boys a dollar every time we parked or took our car out, they were very quick. Great area as well plenty of restaurants and pubs, you will not be disappointed, we will defiantly stay here again. Thank you to all the staff at Tower 23 and JRDNS Restaurant we had an excellent time. You pay for what you get, and Tower 23 delivered!!

Room Tip: Any room would have been great, we stayed in room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you much for sharing your experience! We work hard to deliver the best service, cuisine and ambiance in San Diego. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed it all. We will be sure to recognize Ace for his efforts.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great hotel in a fab location, and being right on the beach is a big plus. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a light lunch on the terrace one day which was simple but delicious. Dinner was less impressive but nonetheless nice. The rooms are spacious and clean.

For a first trip to San Diego I would definitely recommend Tower23. I'd definitely go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place seems to pride itself on being a bar and restaurant THEN a hotel. The bar and restaurant are right on the beach, the bar has great drinks, the food is good and it is a fun place to people-watch. However, the hotel is seriously lacking professional courtesy and service. It seems to be understaffed. We arrived early to the hotel on a Sunday, expecting that we would not be able to get into our room but that the staff would at least attempt to check-us in slightly earlier than the guaranteed 4pm check-in. The one staff person seemed to be insulted that we arrived early (11:30 am) and treated us coldly and unprofessionally. We left our bags at the front desk. She said she would call us if our room was ready "before she saw us again" but, of course, she never called. We went on a two-hour bike ride while we waited and our room still was not ready, so we went up to the Tower Deck. There was no staff to be found and the towels on the lounge chairs looked like they had been used. The 70's rock the restaurant was playing was blaring through the speakers on the deck, even though my husband and I were the only people up there. Finally, a server from the restaurant came up after about 15-20 minutes of waiting and after my husband asked around to see if the deck had drink or restaurant service. The server lackadaisically greeted us and handed us a menu. He did bring us drinks, though, which seemed to be a tall order at this place. Then he proceeded to just stand out on the deck for awhile and stare out at the ocean like he would prefer to be surfing (yes, we get it...but this is your job!). We finally made it to our room (which had an excellent ocean view and patio overlooking the boardwalk and ocean).
However, we really did not encounter anyone during our two-night stay who proactively greeted us or asked us how we were doing. When we left the hotel at 5:30 am to catch an early flight, the valet was nowhere to be found. My husband was told that security would escort him down to our car. Really? Tower 23 does not provide the level of service that you expect from a four-star hotel. When you pay a premium, you expect good service. I agree with previous reviewers--this is like a Best Western painted blue. While the hotel still looks nice now, I would not be surprised if it went downhill over the next five years.

With that said, definitely try the bar or restaurant. And, we did notice that housekeeping was excellent--the rooms were very clean and they did a turn-down service every evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
First, please allow me to apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. Early check-ins can be tough on Sundays, since the hotel tends to be sold out and guests departing tend to linger. But, guests are welcome to arrive early and enjoy the area. I'm sorry you weren't made to feel this way!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the view, housekeeping services and our award-winning restaurant, JRDN. If your travels bring you back to San Diego and you'd like to give us another chance, contact me directly and I will personally guarantee you will be WOW-ed.
Stacy Warner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The accommodations in San Diego can be tricky...but luckily my friend and I stumbled across TOWER23. It was clean, the beds were completely comfortable, the rooms had ocean views, the food was delicious, decent wine list, great bar downstairs, and the tower deck (for guests) was the real showpiece. We had 2 waiters - one was Phillip, and the other whose name I can't remember (very polite from Orange County and said things like "I'll get it right quick, ma'am!") were fantastic, going the extra mile by checking out towels on their accounts for us, providing ice in a bag for my injured shoulder, tying down a would-be fly away umbrella with string and weighting down with buckets of rocks...they really made it comfortable and easy to be a lump!

On the down side, the front desk staff can be a bit vacuous if not nice, and the hotel lacks any sort of shower post check out. However, would return.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.