We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beachfront hotel with luxurious surf-attitude!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tower23 Visor
Ranked #10 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Knesselare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent beachfront hotel with luxurious surf-attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Super 'spiffy'! Tower23 has a cool vibe and great restaurant! Stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. Location is very good (on the beach) , only 15mins drive from downtown San Diego and near all major 'thing-to-do'. The room was very clean, big and spacious, very good and large bathroom,... Staff helpful and friendly. Quick valid parking, good roomservice, and nice design... no negative points on this hotel, only very positive points and even better memories. You have to try the restaurant: delicious! Tower 23 is my favourite hotel and restaurant in San Diego! Will come back because of the design, surf-vibe, friendly staff, restaurant, location and easy-going atmosphere. An excellent beachfront hotel with a luxurious surf-attitude in one of the coolest cities in the world!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Awwww.... we think you are super spiffy too! Thanks for the great review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our beach front location, friendly staff and the award-winning, JRDN restaurant.

- Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    106
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
79
205
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We absolutely loved Tower 23. Great location, right on the beach, EXCELLENT restaurant. We had booked our 4 night stay through luxurylink.com and it included breakfast every morning and one dinner. When we got there, they gave us nice personalized vouchers detailing exactly what was included in our deal. The hotel restaurant/lounge was awesome; rather than go elsewhere, we would have drinks, snacks and lunch there because the food (and service) was amazing. The room itself was pretty bare, white walls and minimal decor but was very spacious with a great bathroom (separate shower and tub). The hotel was quiet when we were there altough the upstairs patio area does get busy in the afternoon (with lots of people "reserving" chairs by leaving their stuff there for hours!). I’m glad we stayed here rather than downtown… Pacific Beach is a very interesting area with lots of great shopping, restaurants, boardwalk, etc. We're hoping to return to Tower 23 because I can’t think of a single thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I would never have even known about this hotel had it not been for a hotel mishap in Seattle. Long story short - she has a form of neuropathy that makes it impossible to sleep on a bad mattress. Trying to find a better hotel bed in Seattle eventually led to the discovery of a list of hotels in the US that offer Tempurpedic memory foam mattresses. This list led to our discovery of Tower 23 in Pacific Beach, or 'PB' as it's known by the locals. Our first visit to this little boutique hotel was in February 2011. It was a short visit, but the impression it left on us convinced us to come back for another, longer visit in September 2011.

Let me state right up front, this hotel is not for everyone. It doesn't have a pool - this will turn some people off right away. We didn't care. We didn't come to San Diego to swim in a hotel pool. I've read other reviews on this hotel and noticed a few complaints about the homeless folks who pass by on the beachfront walkway. Pacific Beach has homeless people. You just can't get around that fact. We didn't find it intrusive or offensive in any way. They did not camp out near our hotel.

On to what we liked. The bed, of course. If only every hotel had quality, memory foam mattresses, our trip planning would be so much easier and offer so many other choices. A definite win for Tower 23. The restaurant (JRDN) is great. Depending on the time of year, you can get breakfast there, but lunch and dinner are year-round and of high quality. One thing to be aware of when booking a room is that about half of the beach-facing rooms are directly over the restaurant / bar area. The restaurant has an outdoor patio as well and this place can get noisy when it's crowded. Weekend nights are worst. From our room on the third floor at the south end of the hotel, it wasn't too bad. We got a beach-front room and loved it. Being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf is my idea of heaven.

The bathroom is modern and well appointed. Nice big shower and a wonderful tub. The water runs into the tub from the ceiling, which is a little disconcerting at first, but it's OK. Just don't stand next to the tub for the first minute, or you'll get splashed. But it is a great tub. The rain shower is a nice touch.

Tower 23 may not have a pool, but they do have a nice Sky Deck, a second floor outdoor deck overlooking the beach with lounge chairs and sofas and a fireplace for night-time. It's a popular spot and is often full of sunbathers in the afternoon.

If you have a car, you may as well splurge on the $20 per day valet parking. Taking a chance to find parking on the street is taking a big risk, as the neighbourhood is very popular and I found it almost impossible to find parking near the hotel. It's just easier with the valet. I particularly love the location of the hotel, because you're right on the ocean, minutes from trendy La Jolla, a short drive from Fashion Valley Mall and easy access to the freeways that get you all around the San Diego area and up the coast to towns like Encinitas and Del Mar. We saved some money not renting a car at the airport and getting one in PB.

So we're very glad we found this hotel. It is our new home whenever we go to San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. The beach-front rooms are more expensive, so try a different ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
It is hard to beat the combination of Tempurpedic mattresses, fresh sea air and the lulling sound of the ocean for a good nights sleep. A return visit is the best compliment we can receive, so thank you for coming back to visit to T23!

Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We spent the week at Tower23 recently with friends from college. In looking for a hotel in the San Diego area, we wanted something on the beach and Tower 23 fit the bill. It is in a terrific location overlooking Pacific Beach. Rooms were immaculate, beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the firepit, lounge area was great. Valet parking attendants were efficient and helpful (tip - use the free parking coupon from Trip Advisor). When we had a problem with our air conditioning that could not easily be remedied, we were upgraded to another room. Jeremiah and his staff took good care of us. The only problem was the weather did not cooperate and although we were there for a week, never saw a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Director of Sales at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our ocean view fire pit is a great place to reconnect with old friends. It's unfortunate that you missed one of SD's famous sunsets. I hope you'll try again and think of us next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Pacific Beach is bar far the more relaxed beach that San Diego has to offer and if you can tolerate the bronzed and the beautiful its a great place to stay. Tower 23 is nestled right next to the peer and offers a little flavour of luxury and style more akin to an inner city hotel. The style is very chic throughout and the rooms are very well appointed. Friendly staff make this a definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in the area in style.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Spent a week at Tower 23 located on Pacific Beach in San Diego. Room with view of ocean exceptionally nice. Bar and restaurant excellent but fairly expensive. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Ocean view very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the tower23 for work and liked it. The design of the overall hotel is pretty cool, a glass box over looking the ocean. Our room however was a big eh. I did not see the other rooms but based on the lowest priced room they're not really worth the price they are asking. The room itself is fine with a nice little balcony...unfortunately the balcony faces other people's rooms. They call it a courtyard view...but in actuality it's more like a voyeurs view. Our room abutted up another's balcony....enough so that their cigar smoke came into our room. Noise travels as well. If you craned your neck out the window you could see the ocean.

The service, while friendly, was a little lax. When we arrived to check in (after a long flight) there was a gentlemen in front of us asking silly questions for what seemed like forever. There was only one person at the front desk, and instead of calling for help or answering questions while checking us in...we waited 10 minutes to check in. Clearly there should be a concierge person and a check in person...not just one person.

We also returned home to find the valet parking closed at 10pm on saturday night. The gate was down.

We came down to hang out on the deck in the afternoon, only to find no cushions or anywhere to sit.

We had to run around to the front desk and get security to come open it. That's a little strange.

All of these little glitches are understandable but at the price they were charging should not have happened. This is clearly a smallish design hotel but that doesn't mean they have to be small on service.

That being said, the sunsets from this location are absolutely stunning.

All in all I wouldn't discount a stay at the Tower23 but I can't say it's worth it for the cheapest room. If you want to stay at the beach then pony up the cash for the direct ocean view rooms. If not just grab drink there and watch the sun set.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a direct view room, the non-view rooms aren't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.