We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perciarose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Rosecrans Cemetery

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
1800 Cabrillo Memorial Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
619 553 2084
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perciarose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were there over the 4th of July beautiful place to honor our men and woman of the armed forces and going up to see the lighthouse the grounds our beautiful then we went down to the tide pools.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    95
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to pay respect and reflect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Fort Rosecrans is a beautifully laid out cemetery that provides both views of the city to the east and panoramic views of the Pacific to the west. Great place to take in the sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Whispering Souls on a Hallowed Mesa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My father is buried here, so I know FRC well.

Catalina Blvd splits the cemetery in two as it heads out to the Cabrillo National Monument (another MUST) when visiting SD.

Don't let the word "Cemetery" keep you from at least driving through the cemetery. Much like the Normandy Beaches in France are a MUST, so too, is FRC.

To the west, the mesa slopes and rolls as the neat marble headstones roll with the terrain. Then it gives way sharply to the bluffs that take the pounding of the Pacific. Ancient Torrey Pines are scattered on the mesa and the headstones here are more recent. The marble wall boardering the road houses the most recent interred veterans. Navy Seal and Medal of HOnor recipient, Michael Monsoor is near the DD section of the wall.

On the Bay Side, is where most of the oldest veteran dead, Medal of Honor recipients and unique headstones are. The oldest war honored: the Spanish American War.

Every Memorial Day, thousands of Scouts from all over SD County place flags to honor those who served our country.

Fort Rosecrans National Cemetery is a hallowed stroll not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honor our heroes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great place to remember our heroes. Just walking down a few rows of head stones and reading the names and dates can give you a sense of great respect for these men and women. The view is awesome as well. Make a day of it end head down the road a little further to the tide pools and the lighthouse where you can catch a beautiful sunset.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view. Restful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Gorgeous view of the ocean and bay. Lovely Memorial Day service. Beautiful tribute to our past soldiers from all wars. My father is interened in the wall and I've been there many times.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Rosecrans Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.