We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Rosecrans Cemetery

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
1800 Cabrillo Memorial Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
619 553 2084
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$31*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #10 of 373 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My father is interred at Fort Rosecrans Cemetery, and I lived in Point Loma as a child. This place holds a very special meaning for me. The scenery is truly spectacular. This elegant cemetery is a dignified and serene resting place for our nation's heroes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southern California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Patriotism Abounds in Military Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Whether you are going to attend a service, find a particular grave, or just walk around to embrace the atmosphere, this is a nice place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special place for our veterans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found this cemetery on our road trip of "59 places to see in San Diego". After living my whole life in Southern California I was surprised at how many hidden places I still didn't know about. This was one of them.

My interest in genealogy leads me to places like this to find relatives but the location of this cemetery with it's great views are a great tribute to the heroes that are laid to rest here.

Take the time to drive in and stop and look at some of the grave markers (all the way back to the Spanish American War). It is a very humbling experience to walk among these patriots that gave their lives in service for our freedom.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
316 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I make it a point of visiting the cemetery at least once a year to pay my respects to those who have served our country and assured our freedoms. This is a serene and lovely place, befitting the dignity of those who are buried here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DowneastCornhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where true role models are laid to rest..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Appropriately located in the Point Loma Hills overlooking the San Diego Harbor and skyline. Even if you don't have any friends or reletives resting there, it's worth the visit for it's historical value. Among the most recent laid to rest there are Navy SEALS Lt. Michael P. Murphy and SEAL MA2 Michael A. Monsoor, both Medal of Honor recipients.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldschool1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing