We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patriotism Abounds in Military Cemetery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Rosecrans Cemetery

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
1800 Cabrillo Memorial Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
619 553 2084
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #6 of 349 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southern California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Patriotism Abounds in Military Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Whether you are going to attend a service, find a particular grave, or just walk around to embrace the atmosphere, this is a nice place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    142
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special place for our veterans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found this cemetery on our road trip of "59 places to see in San Diego". After living my whole life in Southern California I was surprised at how many hidden places I still didn't know about. This was one of them.

My interest in genealogy leads me to places like this to find relatives but the location of this cemetery with it's great views are a great tribute to the heroes that are laid to rest here.

Take the time to drive in and stop and look at some of the grave markers (all the way back to the Spanish American War). It is a very humbling experience to walk among these patriots that gave their lives in service for our freedom.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
254 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I make it a point of visiting the cemetery at least once a year to pay my respects to those who have served our country and assured our freedoms. This is a serene and lovely place, befitting the dignity of those who are buried here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where true role models are laid to rest..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Appropriately located in the Point Loma Hills overlooking the San Diego Harbor and skyline. Even if you don't have any friends or reletives resting there, it's worth the visit for it's historical value. Among the most recent laid to rest there are Navy SEALS Lt. Michael P. Murphy and SEAL MA2 Michael A. Monsoor, both Medal of Honor recipients.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always such a real world patriotic feeling to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The beauty, the patriotic grave markers are a stark reality to the cost of freedom to this great country. Freedom is free to you, but it comes with a price tag to the soldiers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Rosecrans Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.