We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Oasis in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vyvant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vyvant to your Saves list
Hotel Vyvant
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Relaxing Oasis in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I had a great time staying at Hotel Vyvant this past weekend. We arrived long before the official check in time but the lady at the front desk got the staff to ready our room immediately so that we could freshen up before visiting friends. The Rooms are beautiful had a relaxing tub, a comfortable bed, and a filling complimentary breakfast. Offered me a military discount as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you can. But if you get the first floor they provide you with ear plugs for the floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    102
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
206
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked a room after reading reviews from others. I must admit that although we had read that the hotel was on a busy street, we were surprised that it is located on the on ramp to interstate 5 . We began to rethink our decision , but as soon as we entered the front door we knew it was a good choice! This is an Adorable hotel. Cute lobby and rooms, clean and remarkably quiet considering its location next to the freeway and under the landing path for the San Diego airport! Within walking distance to little Italy and the Port of San Diego. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

Room Tip: Economy rooms have to share a bathroom! It's worth it to pay the extra for you own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this hotel via Trip Advisor & couldn't be happier. It is a unique, boutique place to stay with great staff only too willing to assist in any way they can. Being from Australia, we were reliant on their assistance. Its location to the harbour, little Italy etc is a plus. Would highly recommend. Special thanks to Kelly-Anne for her patience & assistance.

Room Tip: We shared a bathroom with our friends but had to go outside our room to do so. Might be worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a great review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel in the heart of Little Italy. We all really enjoy working here, so we hope our guests enjoy staying here too! We hope you had a great rest of your trip.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Vyvant on a recent business trip to San Diego. With its convenient location to Highway 5 and all freeways its a great home base. Little Italy is awesome part of town with great restaurants and shops within walking distance from hotel. Of course the accommodations and service at Hotel Vyvant was top notch! Highly recommend for you next business (or pleasure) trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We all enjoy working here and hope the guests enjoy staying here too! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Little Italy is a great place to explore. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in town!

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. In the Little Italy section of San Diego is a very nice boutique hotel. This small hotel feels more like a B&B with very friendly staff who are readily available to give advice on the town and are eager to hear about your trip. Delicious and healthy options for continental breakfast and even offered us a glass of wine upon our arrival. Most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. Some rooms have communal bathroom in the hall, but I never needed to wait for it. Staff keep excellent care of you and the place. Very close to airport, highways, and attractions. Free parking very close by. I will definitely visit again if I'm out in San Diego!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the comfy beds and delicious breakfast. We also enjoy how close we are to so many attractions and it is an easy trip to and from the airport. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Words cannot describe how impressed we are with Hotel Vyvant! We were married in San Diego over the weekend and rented out the entire hotel for our guests. The guests are still talking about the wedding, of course, but who knew that a boutique hotel could be the wedding buzz 5 days later?!! Our guests were thrilled with the accommodations, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and proximity of the hotel to downtown San Diego, the airport, and the waterfront. Hotel staff went above and beyond (Thank you Denise and team!) for us, and answered our countless questions in the months leading up to the big weekend. My parents made gift baskets for each of the guests, which the staff kindly placed in each room before guests arrived. We also had a family member host a brunch the morning after the wedding and the hotel staff, again, could not have been more accommodating in helping us arrange for this. Did I mention the beds?! SO comfortable! Our room was super clean and well decorated. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in our room (we stayed in room B)! Everything about this hotel is just precious. It is European boutique hotel meets sweet modern B&B, meets paradise.The breakfast is quite expansive for being "continental." The rates were more than reasonable.The staff helped us coordinate taxis for folks, including reserving one for us the day of our departure at 4am. We felt safe, well cared for, and well rested at this hotel. Yes, at times the airplanes and cars can be a bit noisy, but they leave ear plugs on the bedside tables, and we didn't even have to use these (room B is right next to a fairly high traffic street, as well as the freeway, and I am a very light sleeper, to give you some context). Even though we have family in San Diego, we will probably book at least one night at Hotel Vyvant the next time we are visiting, because it was just so PERFECT! Thank you Hotel Vyvant for a fantastic weekend and for making our guests feel so "at home."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a fantastic review! We all had a great time helping make sure the weekend was as good as it could be. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our staff! We enjoy making every guest's experience comfortable and memorable. We agree Denise is a gem to have here as well. It really was our pleasure to help in any way we could. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel is very personal. Denise was an amazing help who walked us to our room and was great at knowing the hotel and surrounding area very well. She also accommodated us with a very early check in! Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and we agree Denise is great! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vyvant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vyvant 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vyvant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.