We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vyvant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vyvant to your Saves list
Hotel Vyvant
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place for a family celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is my first time staying at a boutique hotel and it was a great choice for celebrating my 60th birthday with my family! It is so close to everything in Little Italy so we walked to dinner at Felippi's, dessert at Yogurtland, and enjoyed a casual walk back to the hotel to end the evening. We were even able to have our own little pre-dinner reception in one of the enclosed patios at the hotel. Although there is no hotel parking lot, none of us had a problem finding parking on the street right outside the hotel. I am a super light sleeper, wake up at any noise, and I managed to have a great night of sleep....closed the windows, turned on the ceiling fan and I was out for the night! Comfortable beds, my sister-in-law raved about the jacuzzi tub in her room, great breakfast (hard to choose between the granola and yogurt, flaky croissants, or blueberry scones as my favorite so I ate all three!) fun conversations in the lobby with people from all over as we ate or just "hung out". I am excited that I get to stay again for a work retreat in just a few weeks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    102
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
206
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed on Memorial Weekend the rooms are clean and my room had a jacuzzi tub. My room and the other rooms my family were in had nice antique style furniture all different. Staff was very nice and friendly and the continental breakfast was delicious. Pastries and homemade granola were excellent. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We look forward to your return!

Best Wishes,

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. The staff is so friendly and helpful! Really great. Good location for Little Italy, for Balboa park and the Zoo. Everything was great. rooms super clean and very pleasant. There is some noise from the street as it is on a rather busy road, but it wasnt a big issue. we would highly recommend it and woudl go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed the location and we are glad the street noise was not bothersome. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes,

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The experience living here is awesome. The staff here is so kind, welcoming and friendly. The breakfast is the typical continental style, simple and delicious. And We are lucky enough to meet their happy hour which served with beers, wines, cookies, fruits, cheese and ham. The room is clean and well designed. Although the hotel is close to airport and I-5, the noise doesn't bother at all. The only thing bother us a little is the noise made by people walking upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear your enjoyed breakfast and our weekly Happy Hour. We apologize for the noise and we will be working on a solution to keep the halls quieter. Thank you again!

Best Wishes,

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Could not have asked for a friendlier or more helpful staff. Delicious breakfast and happy hour with local beers and wines. Walking distance to the rich variety of restaurants and shops in Little Italy. Very close to the I-5 and flight path of the airport, but the noise did not bother us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the neighborhood. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Vyvant was the perfect place for us. Three adults stayed in the two bedroom flat and we couldn't have been more pleased. The reception was friendly, the room was more than comfortable both in size and quality of furnishings, everything was immaculate, and the location was ideal. While there is the noise of the city when you step outside the door, the room itself was very quiet. (For those who hear every little sound from outside, earplugs are provided.) All the comforts of home are here in an upscale setting. When I return to San Diego, I most assuredly will be staying at Hotel Vyvant. (In fact, I hesitated writing this review -- I don't want this splendid little hotel to become so popular that there are never rooms available!) Bottom line - you won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: The two bedroom flat is perfect for three people; the bed in the smaller bedroom is against the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for such kind words. We hope we will see you again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was looking for a last minute, overnight stay close to airport at a great value - I got much more for the price! Charming boutique hotel in Little Italy (walking distance to great cuisine); adequate size room with comfortable bedding and towels; extremely welcoming & friendly staff (both night & morning shift); premises appeared well maintained, private and secure. I could hear people walking the halls in the morning given the wooden floors, but that's just part of the charm. But if you're noise sensitive, you may want to use the ear plugs provided in rooms. 5 star rating based on balance of property, service and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the room and location. We understand our wood floors can be noisy at times, but we are happy it wasn't a problem for you. We hope you will visit again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vyvant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vyvant 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vyvant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.