We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful, lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vyvant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vyvant to your Saves list
Hotel Vyvant
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So helpful, lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stay in San Diego. It's in a great location - walking distance from the Gaslamp and Balboa Park, as well as down to the bay - and the rooms are comfortable and classy. The breakfast pastries were delicious, and it was a nice relaxed affair sitting around the shared dining table.
The staff are super helpful, allowing us to change our room type on (very late night) arrival, and letting us use their computer to print off tickets. We liked it so much we stayed an extra 2 nights!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We love the breakfast pastries too. We hope you will come back and see again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    102
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
206
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We decided last minute to go/stay in San Diego & took a chance with Hotel Vyvant. While many complain on (yelp) about not enough attention in the lobby, weird soaker tub instances, freeway traffic we totally enjoyed the hotel & staff was SO nice. The cabs were easy, the parking was street but we got lucky nearby. The freeway was a non-issue. We had a great time and the hotel is very charming. It's not the Ritz but it's clean, close, comfy (the bed was amazing)... and a great rate. Give it a shot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a night here with some friends for a San Diego Event recently and I was so happy that I handpicked this place to stay. The girls at the front desk were so kind, the B&B just lovely and a fantastic location. They offered us a lot of information on the city and most everything is within walking distance (but easy driving too).

The continental breakfast was perfect in the morning, the local granola my favorite! The new owners are obviously putting in the effort to make us feel right at home. Just a short drive from our home town of San Clemente but a real treat; Highly Recommended:))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Every area of the hotel is kept really well. You can tell they thought this through every detail. Location is great, close to everything and a lot of dining options within walking distance. Staff, so hospitable and friendly! Also, very helpful in getting your way around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was our last destination in California after one week driving around. San Diego was simply amazing, fell in love with it, and this hotel really helped us with everyting. It's in the nice little italy area, very fun place to stay and not far from the sea. The rooms are clean,cosy and comfortable, and the service is perfect. It was the perfect way to end our holiday.
Don't hesitate to stay there if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

You can feel at ease booking this hotel. Everything in regard to its upkeep and service is fine. Didn't have the breakfast as the area was a bit small and I'm not into early morning chit chat, but that's me. Beds were good, bottles of water supplied. Noise from road/planes was present but not enough to keep me awake. Earplugs are on your bedside table anyway. The area is safe so feel free to roam Little Italy where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We loved Hotel Vyvant! It is spotlessly clean, the staff are warm and friendly, and is decorated beautifully. Little Italy is a great area with lots of restaurants and the hotel is within walking distance to the Zoo. We only stayed one night but wanted to stay more. Great value too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vyvant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vyvant 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vyvant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.