We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TRUE GEM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishery

The Fishery
5040 Cass St., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)
(858) 272-9985
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fishery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Opal
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A TRUE GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We found this in a guide book as a "locals" favorite so decided to give the place a try. It was WONDERFUL and the food was fabulous. We did make reservations as it was suggested and glad we did as it was very busy for a Tuesday night. I would not recommend it for children but it's certainly a place if you like good fresh local seafood.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh, fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent place for great fish. Have eaten here several times, always excellent. Usually a wait, almost always busy. Nicely distanced from the mad bar scene on Garnet. Smart furnishings, some patio seating also. Much better quality, value and service than Roy's downtown. You can buy fresh fish to make at home, but we did not try that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very solid food, good for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Came here with family and friends on a Sunday afternoon. Food highlights: crab cakes, ahi tuna poke salad, grilled ahi sandwich, steamed mussels. While we each got our own entrees, we ended up sharing most dishes. Good wine too. A nice, classier restaurant in the middle of Pacific Beach. I'll definitely be back to try all the tacos next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great service! Knowledgable staff made recommendations. The food was well worth the price. The fish is so fresh. We had seabass n swordfish both fantastic. Also recommend the ahi poke for a starter n finish with a cookie dessert. Definitely will be back on our next visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful and fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The presentation for every meal is very beautiful and most definitely satisfying for your hungry stomach. Every time I eat here, I leave feeling full but not so full that I feel like I should have worn stretchy pants. Portions are not the typical American supersize plates most restaurants seem to serve, but it is because they use great fish with farm to table vegetables. The meals are very healthy, making me feel at ease with myself and most definitely satisfied with my meal. Love love love this place! Also, don't forget to try the Jules Taylor sauvignon blanc. Sauv blanc is my favorite white and Jules Taylor definitely has excelled in their wine. Also, Tuesday tasting menu is always a good choice- $28 for 4 course meal or $40 for 4 course meal AND 3 half pours of wines paired with the food. YUM!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishery also viewed

 

Been to The Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.