We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Eat Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishery

The Fishery
5040 Cass St., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)
(858) 272-9985
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fishery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Opal
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Great service! Knowledgable staff made recommendations. The food was well worth the price. The fish is so fresh. We had seabass n swordfish both fantastic. Also recommend the ahi poke for a starter n finish with a cookie dessert. Definitely will be back on our next visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful and fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The presentation for every meal is very beautiful and most definitely satisfying for your hungry stomach. Every time I eat here, I leave feeling full but not so full that I feel like I should have worn stretchy pants. Portions are not the typical American supersize plates most restaurants seem to serve, but it is because they use great fish with farm to table vegetables. The meals are very healthy, making me feel at ease with myself and most definitely satisfied with my meal. Love love love this place! Also, don't forget to try the Jules Taylor sauvignon blanc. Sauv blanc is my favorite white and Jules Taylor definitely has excelled in their wine. Also, Tuesday tasting menu is always a good choice- $28 for 4 course meal or $40 for 4 course meal AND 3 half pours of wines paired with the food. YUM!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Quality, service , atmosphere -excellent! We ve been there 3 times for lunch now.
Their ceviche is amazing.
Fish and chips - a real deal! Beautifully executed, not soggy, crispy to a perfection and if you don t want fries - can get a side salad, Generous portions.

The staff is great - they will answer all your questions and no problem accommodating your dietary needs.

Parking is not a problem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Freshest fish imaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We committed the cardinal sin of eating fish out on a Monday night. Not to worry. Delicious oysters. Wonderful tuna cooked properly. Delicious salmon. Interesting swordfish meatballs.
Attentive service. Do not miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two great Prix Fixe experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My fiancé and I ate at the Fishery for New Years Eve Dinner as well as during San Diego Restaurant Week. Both times were quite enjoyable. The appetizers were nice but it was the entree's where they truly shined. For restaurant week the dungeness crab fettuccini was delightfully rich while the albacore belly paired with some fried rice was a nice light meal. While this isn't an everyday restaurant because of prices, it is perfect for special occasions. It also doesn't hurt that we can walk and take advantage of the wine pairings!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishery also viewed

 

Been to The Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.