We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1st Opera Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Civic Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Diego Civic Theatre
3rd and B St., San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619-231-8995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 495 things to do in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the San Diego Opera and Broadway theater.
El Cajon, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My 1st Opera Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I saw Murder in the Cathedral. It was an exciting experience. The singing was powerful! I look forward to attending another show in the future. Make sure you get there before the show to be seated; because there is no late seating once the show starts. If you are late you will be able to watch the show on a flat screen that does not do any justice for the live experience of being in the theatre. An evening at the theatre give you the opportunity to get all dressed up; which is always nice :) Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very good venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a tough one to rate. It deserves four stars for many of its services and features. However, seating is critical here. The acoustics can be troublesome. I won't and don't go unless I'm in the front or first several rows. It is absolutely worth the money to purchase the best seat you can afford. There are many very poor seats available and even if you think your safe, you find yourself in a seat that makes you want to get up and leave. Enough said about that. I do like the service in the theater, especially the upstairs bar where you can order your drinks for intermission in advance. They are placed on your table just prior to the break. Instantly you have a cocktail and conversation and you don't have to deal with lines. I highly recommend this premium service. The bartenders are also very accommodating. I've never encountered anything but a smile and a prompt yes. If you need air during intermission, there are always a couple of stations serving food and beverage. I like the place very much, but seating is critical.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful show. It was so good. The singing and acting was wonderful too. Constantine at the lead was wonderful. The whole cast was superb

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Theatre Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Always something good going on at the Civic. Park & walk downtown for dinner & a show, great night out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jekyll and Hyde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Love the shows that come to the S.D. Civic Theatre. Jekyll and Hyde was just as I expected - a dark and scary story of good vs. evil. The two women leads were fantastic and Constantine Maroulis was superb as Jekyll / Hyde. The only negative would be the theatre itself. It is in total need of a make over! It reminds me of an old, musty movie theatre with the carpet on the walls. We have been to many other theatres, such as Pantanges in LA, which are beautifully ornate. The S.D. Civic Theatre is dull and dreary. Hope they can refurbish it at some point.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Civic Theatre also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Civic Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Civic Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.