We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel. Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family of 5 enjoyed a nice 2 bedroom suite for three nights while in town for a family wedding in La Jolla. Enjoyed our stay but we were really impressed by the group of people running this place. Everyone we had the pleasure of running in to were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. From the front desk to the breakfast personnel to the maids in the hallway. Even had the GM walk by while we were sitting in the lobby and asked if the temperature was comfortable. The little things add up and the positive attitudes do make a difference. We'd recommend this location in a heart beat! Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    179
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
436
125
24
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel would have been perfect for me if the fitness center was 4 times larger and had some equipment. 2 treadmills, an eliptical, a bike and some dumbbells doesn't qualify as a fitness center. However, the free food was very good and the remaining facilities are nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is an excellent hotel on many levels. However, the single star rating is not accidental and hopefully will at a minimum entice conversation and make visitors aware given that a single review like this can affect the outcome for well over 1000 potential visitors very quickly. I'm targeting the fact that the property is not a smoke-free hotel.

I came here to relax with a friend for the long weekend with a friend and we wanted a kitchen option. Nothing can ruin an otherwise experience more than activities of other guests and in this case it's subtle and not the guests' fault as it's allowed hotel policy.

Now I understand that only certain sections of the property have rooms that allow for smoking and I know there are designated areas outside, but this never, ever works. Smoke has a tendency to make its way around the building despite best intentions. On this particular visit, a few examples:

1. We like to sleep with the windows open. Not more than an hour or two into trying to fall asleep and ... smoke.

2. Sitting in the hot tub after a long hike during the afternoon ... smoke.

3. Retrieving a few items from the car ... smoke.

I am somewhat sensitive to smoke so maybe other visitors will not have an issue but as someone who is just getting over a minor lung infection, it pretty much ruined the weekend.

I also understand that hotels want to be accommodating to smokers. However, this is 2014 and there are many successful hotels that are 100% smoke free (thinking many Starwood properties). In fact, one Starwood property manager told me if I see someone smoking close to the building, to call as it's not allowed and that's the way it should be.

I also work in medicine and see the carnage downstream, but I'll leave this part out as it's a personal choice, although that's debatable too with escalating insurance premiums. What is not though is supporting an activity that has the potential to have negative consequences for others who are also paying guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. While our property is well known for being an incredibly comfortable and clean hotel, it seems that you did not get to enjoy that kind of experience. We do have designated exterior smoking areas as well as designated smoking rooms located on our top floor. We of course are very sorry to hear that you were effected as we truly strive to make both smoking and non smoking guests happy. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies and would appreciate any further details in order to ensure this does not occur in the future. Our direct line is 858-523-0500. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The suit was compact and very efficient. Just what we needed as a couple. There we no restaurants within walking distant except the one in the Hilton hotel next door. However, Homewood suites provided dinner Monday thru Thursday 5-7PM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review! While we do have a plethora of wonderful one and two bedroom suites, our Homewood also offers Studio Suites for quick getaways and smaller families. You can expect all of the amenities you would find in our larger suites but in a smaller and more economical package. We hope to have you again next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Thank you for the excellent hot meals for breakfast and evening. I was going to book with Marriot nearby and it did not offer the meals or free sevices. I am so glad I stayed here. The staffs for dinning and front desk were very friendly. It made my business trip less stressful. Thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Another great stay at a Homewood Suites. Staff was exceptional. There was a pretty good variety of breakfast foods, certainly better than your standard continental. The only unfortunate thing about our stay was the family of early-rising kangaroos above us. Can't fault kids for being kids. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while working in San Diego for 10 nights in August 2013. The staff was extremely attentive to every detail and amazingly friendly. The ladies working the evening reception remembered us each evening and went out of their way to make sure we had drinks at our table, they even remembered where we sat each night! The front desk staff was very friendly and was extremely helpful when I spoke to them about the people in the room above me stomping on the floor. The maintenance staff was quick and attentive when the lock on my door broke and the guy was super friendly. Overall, this is about the best hotel staff I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's staying in the Del Mar area, or working at MCAS Miramar like I was. Fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the hotel overlooking the pool are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.