We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Olympia, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at the Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar for 8 weeks. It couldn't have been better, everyone was super friendly and accommodating. Any minor issues (light bulb out) were resolved immediately. It was very hard being away from home for that long but they made it easier, the front desk staff new my name and greeted me every morning as I was leaving and night when I came back. The room was large, comfortable and clean. My family came for a week to visit and the housekeeping staff even made my 3 years olds little portable blow up bed every day by straightening his blanket and arranging his animals (it was very sweet). The staff always seemed happy to be at work and enjoying their jobs. Courtney, Julie and Norma (there was one other lady and young man whose names I cant remember) made the stay that much more enjoyable with their friendliness and helpfulness. I was originally supposed to stay in the Gaslamp District but I found myself scrambling last minute to find a place that I could live with for 8 weeks. I am extremely happy I happened upon this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    181
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
438
127
24
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temple City, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was not very impressed with my stay here but I did not spend much time in the room. We came to this location because we were, my boyfriend and I, going to the SD Zoo and Safari park and this place is only a 20-30 minute drive from each of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you Elizabeth Z for the review. We are sorry that you were not impressed by our property. We were hoping you would be willing to fill us in on some specifics of your experience, and if there is anything we can do to truly give you an amazing experience next time we would love to know that as well. If you have time please email me at rburke@homewoodsuitesdelmar.com. I would love to hear from you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed for 1 night on a business trip. Registration was the definition of efficient. In about 2 minutes I was given all of the information that I needed without even asking including being told I had been complementarily upgraded to a nice suite. The room was everything I needed and everything worked well. It was one of those stays when I wished I was staying longer because the room was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Excellent customer service, each of the staff members that I interacted with were above and beyond courteous! A very nice experience.

The complimentary breakfasts and dinners were comprised of quality products, everything was fresh and tasted great. They also made the cost of the room a very good value. Free beer and wine with dinner = best. Thing. EVER.


Room for improvement:
My room smelled musty each time upon entering, but it wasn't unbearable.

I usually see a DVD / Blu-Ray player attached to at least one TV in a room, but there weren't any in this particular room.

I believe they have Direct TV (or similar) in the dining area, but there was only limited availability of cable channels in this particular room.

The $50 fee for Early Check-Out was unexpected and disappointing. I suppose I should have read all of the "fine print" when I booked this stay, but honestly; most business travelers don't, myself included. I was pressed for time when I checked out, so I didn't dispute the charge with the (very gracious) front desk staff. I travel 25% of every year, and I've checked out of several hotels earlier than planned, but his is the first time I've encountered a "penalty" for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you Mike A. for the great review! Having to travel frequently for work sometimes is less fun than it should be, so we are glad we could help you relax and be comfortable while here. Thank you also for the constructive comments, we are always looking for ways to improve and your specific notes have been passed on to our department managers.

Next time you are in San Diego please feel free to give us a call, we would love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I must apologize for the extreme tardiness of this review. We stayed here in January 2013 (now it's Nov/13).

Travelling down from Canada, we stayed in Anaheim for 5 days, then drove to San diego and Stayed at the Homewood Suites (San Diego-Del Mar) for another 4 days (perhaps 5). My husband and I were travelling with my daughter, her husband and her two boys, ages 5 and 9. The suite was all we had expected. Two well-appointed rooms - each with separate complete baths - separated by the living room/dining/kitchen are. The entryway was large, which I loved. When booking a two-bedroom suite, you'd expect at least 4 people. We had 6 and the large entryway made going in and out of the suite so easy.

The staff were all cheerful and very helpful. The location was easy to find and close enough to Sea World, the USS Midway and one other place by Sea World that I cannot remember, sad to say, that it was not inconvenient at all.

The food served was well-cooked, well-laid out and tasty. The selection was incredible.

Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent little hotel this was. Stayed with husband and two sons so of course had two suites.
Reception check in was a piece of cake. Couldn't do enough for us even though we got in pretty late.
Suites were spotless and modern. Free breakfasts and dinner during the week were provided and therefore made the hotel excellent value
It's only downfall was the fact it was so far out of San Diego City. We had no car so had to rely on taxis quite a bit but for those people with their own transport it is like an oasis .

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Reasonably priced place to stay with a great staff at the front desk and in the lounge section. Good hot breakfast and clean spacious suites. Manager's reception every night with free food and drink. Rooms are nice, outdoor pool in good shape with a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you Vytas A. for the wonderful review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We are also glad you had a chance to enjoy our Welcome Home Dinner. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.