We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #7 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
south bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hubby and I stayed at this hotel. Employees were very pleasant and always greeted us with a smile and hello. The room was very clean, full kitchen with dishware, pots, utensils, dishwasher, full-size refrig. The full hot breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the evening reception dinner -- the entrees were fresh (not frozen type) and the lettuce at the salad bar was crisp (fresh and not packaged lettuce). The highlight of the hotel were the accommodations, complimentary breakfast and dinner reception. The dining area felt like being in a nice restaurant. Kitchen staff always made it a point to have food readily available and replenished. Coffee, tea, and water available 24 hours. Nice atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back to Homewood Suites!

We requested to see some of the larger rooms for an upcoming family reunion. The front office was very accommodating in allowing us to do this. We will be back for our family reunion!

In addition, Del Mar is a very nice community -- affluent, safe, modern, and clean. We did most of our activities in San Diego which was only 20-30 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    187
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
448
130
24
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Homewood suites was fine. Everything clean and bright, the only issue was that we had the complimentary breakfast on a Saturday, and it was extremely busy, tables were dirty and they had trouble keeping enough food out. For some reason there were lots of children at this time and it was a bit distracting and loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and all we had to offer. We are sorry though that your breakfast experience was less than perfect. We appreciate your comments and have passed them to our Food and Beverage department. Thank you again so much for helping us become better and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We like it so much that we extended our visit to see more san diego attraction while enjoying this lovely hotel stay. Excellent value for money, good breakfast, and they even serve free dinner on weekdays (we didn't try it).

One con is that the sofa sleeper is comfortable and you feel all the mattress springs agains your back.


Special thanks to David from the dining service, as he was very helpful and gave us many friendly advise during our trip. Thanks and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Suites features separate bedroom and living room with a sleeper sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I booked Homewood Suites because I was going to have knee surgery at UCSD. We were in "accessible" unit #225. Very comfortable and the staff was very understanding and accomodating.
My husband was able to bring breakfast up to me. If he wasn't with me on my "walker" a staff person jumped up to open a door, etc. The only improvement I can think of would be to have balconies to enjoy the weather more! I researched similar properties, but they didn't have the large master bedroom that we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we booked this property because it had a good central location to everything we were going to do in San Diego. Our son is stationed at Miramar and it would be close to him also. The hotel sent us an email prior to our arrival highlighting all the amenities of the property this was great because we knew ahead of time that there was a café next door that we could get lunch witch we would have not known, and we were hungry when we arrived and the lunch here was very good. The entire staff was very friendly always asking if we needed anything. The rooms were very nice large enough to visit with our children and nice to be able to keep snacks in the fridge. We had breakfast every morning it was the standard continental breakfast . We used the hot tub and they lite the heaters on the patio so we could set outside for a bit. The manager sent another email after we checked out making sure our stay was great. It was and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This property is meticulously managed--I have stayed at many Homewood Suites and have always been happy with our stay, however, this property went over and beyond my expectations. The free breakfast amd evening meals were always delicious and the food was plentiful. There was always numerous staff available to assist with the meals and it alsmost felt as though we were dining in a restaurant--unbelievably great service! We had a minor problem in our room on our first night--and when we reported it to the staff, they immediately moved us to another room and didn't charge us for our first night stay--who could ask for better treatment?! The staff were always smiling and were a happy, productive crew. This was a terrific hotel and you can't go wrong with a reservation at this property.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor--but any floor would be fine. The location is quiet--away from road noise, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay so you can explore the area, this is the perfect hotel.

The location is great; getting to the freeway and back was easy, La Jolla, Oceanbeach, Sea World, and Downtown (we went to Gaslamp Quarter) was all within a 20 minute drive.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the AC unit was relatively quiet (didn't bother me from sleeping), the staff was wonderful, and the parking was easy. The full fridge/freezer was also a bonus, as well as the kitchen itself. The kitchen has a range with two heat plates, a vent, microwave, and sink. Pots and pans were provided as well as dining utensils.

Towards retiring for the night, we brought our own HDMI cable and hooked up the laptop to the TV and watched Netflix. Great WiFi(free on multiple devices), and TV.

The complimentary breakfast also surpassed my expectations.

Overall, this was the best hotel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.