We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #6 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We couldn't have chosen a more accommodating, pleasant place to stay! After driving down the coast and staying at a number of different places, we're glad we ended at Homewood Suites. We checked in early and they were just cleaning up breakfast and we were offered breakfast before everything was put away. The guy taking care of the breakfast area even put off putting things away until we had enough. The room was really nice-queen suite. Offered a kitchenette (not that I was going to cook on my vacation) with a dishwasher, desk, and couch. The bathroom had the sink vanity outside of the toilet and shower which was nice. The only complaint we could make is the bed had a bad mattress which we told them about and they noted. The breakfast offered 2 kinds of eggs, along with another hot side, waffles and everything else. More than enough to satisfy! It was our 10 year anniversary and they gave us a bottle of California wine and 2 chocolate bars for the occasion. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! I think this was bargain for what we received!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    175
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
427
113
24
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

From check in to check out, I must say this was one of the most positive and enjoyable stays I've had in the last 4 years. The room was just what I wanted and the staff in every aspect was top notch. From directions to the workout facilities, all met or exceeded my expectations. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: I would believe all rooms will meet any travelers needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are a family of 6 and stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. It was very comfortable and clean.
With 3 young children, the kitchenette was very convenient. However, the pot was not in good condition so we did not use it for boiling water.
All staff members -front desk, housekeeping, dining room - were very friendly, courteous, and helpful.
Peaceful location and easy drive to Legoland and to Buena Park.
A great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in October 2013. What a delight! I don't know where to start.

The hotel says it's in San Diego/Del Mar. It's really in northern San Diego and a couple miles south of Del Mar, just off the I-805. If you're going to the area near Qualcomm on Mira Mesa or anywhere north of that to Del Mar, you can get there on the frontage road without ever actually getting onto the interstate and thereby avoid any risk of rush-hour traffic. And it's far enough away from the road that the rooms are amazingly quiet. I can't remember ever staying in a quieter room.

My queen studio suite had plenty of space including a sofabed; work desk AND separate table near the kitchen. The kitchen area included a full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, 2-burner stove, dishwasher, and coffeemaker. It was spotlessly clean and the daily housekeeping service was excellent.

New flat-screen TV with excellent reception and good channel selection. Wifi is free to guests and worked perfectly (though I didn't attempt to view any videos).

Breakfast each day included freshly made scrambled eggs, ham or bacon, oatmeal, cereal, waffles, and pastries. Excellent fresh fruit selection including oranges, bananas and apples every day, and even half-grapefruits most of the days!

Happy hour from 5 to 7 pm Monday through Thursday includes draft beer and wine, along with a hearty buffet dinner. The week I was there had BBQ chicken on Monday, tacos on Tuesday, coq au vin (chicken with mushrooms cooked in red wine sauce) on Wednesday and BBQ hot dogs and burgers on Thursday. And a very nice salad bar each day too.

I will be back in the northern San Diego area later this year and I have already made reservations to return.

What more can I say? Only that the entire staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The servers at breakfast and dinner provide better attention than most restaurants (and definitely deserved the tips I left for them).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A one night stayed still allowed us to see why this property receives such high ratings. The hotel staff was excellent at every turn, including the desk clerks at check-in and check-out, the staff overseeing the evening reception and breakfast, and the housekeepers.

The food was as should be expected at a Homewood Suites property ... on par with Hampton Inn & Suites, but not approaching Embassy Suites offerings.

The room was clean, well stocked with a full kitchen, and comfortable.

The drawback was the smell of smoke in the public areas on the fourth floor. It was evident as soon as we stepped off the elevator. We couldn't smell it once inside our room, but a California hotel that still allows smoking in some rooms seems behind the times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

By chance, we landed here for 10 nights after mold was discovered in out apartment in Orange County. I was directed here by a Hilton reservation agent and have to say that this is the smoothest and easiest place in town. The management and operation staff was awesome, plus the hospitality crew was just the best. I experienced generous offerings that were very pleasing in the eating and gathering areas a couple of times a day, tasty! If you are to spend a couple days in San Diego, this is a great place to check out.

Room Tip: Our room was great, I caught a little glimpse here and there as the maids were working, and was a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The suite is an excellent value for all of the in-room amenities. With the free breakfast and dinner you hardly need the kitchen. The furnishings and bedding isn't as luxurious as other Hilton hotels, but if its space you are looking for the suites are a perfect choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.