We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome staff and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I travel the United States for work. I stay in so many hotels, mainly Homewood and Hampton Inns. I had to take time from my busy life to write a review.

Staff is amazing. Upon arrival, I was greeted nicely "in the parking lot" by the always smiling maintenance guy. Another staff member walking through the side gate welcomed me home as well. David, in the dinning area, what a superb guy...very help to children and my family. Always happy go lucky. Check Inn ladies, thumbs up. I first got the first floor room with a patio next to the pool, it was too noisy for me since I like to take naps and no cell signal. I was moved to fourth floor corner. Great cell signal and very quite.

I had two room suites with full size kitchen. A king sized bed and and a nice living room. The elevators are quick. There is free dinner M-Th with free alcohol drinks. Full breakfast with nice ladies and David attending to your needs.

What I liked most - in most hotels, the breakfast area close promptly at said time. For instance, if a hotel states breakfast is over at 10:00 am, the staff are cleaning up at 9:45. By 10:00, nothing is out. At Del Mar, if breakfast is over at 10:00, food was still out for late arrival at 10:20..this is unheard of. Furthermore, the breakfast staff are still smiling. Second, during meals, beit breakfast or dinner, the staff comes out and helps with serving and cleaning. For instance, on Thursday evening during the hamburger and hot dog meal (great dinner by the way), hotel staff would walk around the dinner area were serving beer, condiments, water, napkins....they were accommodating. This hotel is near many of the attractions I wanted based on the price I paid. A centrally located hotel was double. The sites were within 15 -30 minutes from where I wanted to be. Balboa Park, Old Town San Diego, Midway Aircraft Carrier, Flag Ship two hour Harbour Tours, and Mesa Rim Rock climbing - If you have kids, do not miss these low cost attractions.

What I liked least - the shower curtains had a slight foul smell. This is nothing out of the ordinary.

Without hesitation, I feel this is hands down the best Homewood Suite/Hampton hotel in the entire United States.

Room Tip: stay away from the first floor room near the pools..no cell signals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    180
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
437
127
24
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful. When my family arrived a couple hours early for our check-in, they gave us a key so we could hang out by the pool while our room was getting ready. The pool was great, and my 5 year old didn't want to get out of it.

The complimentary breakfast service is about what you would expect from a hotel. There aren't a lot of options close to the hotel, so it was nice to be able to grab either a hot or cold breakfast every morning. We did not take advantage of the dinner service as we were out and about well into the evening every day.

When I walked into this Homewood Suites, my first thought was that I'd stayed here before. I'd actually been to a Homewood Suites in St. Louis last year and I found this one in Del Mar nearly indistinguishable from the one in St. Louis. Personally, I like to stay in a hotel with character, something that will stand out so that my trips don't blur together in my memory. This was, however, a great location to stay to achieve our trip objectives of going to Legoland, Sea World, and Old Town San Diego.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor over the main entrance and found it to be very quiet. Another guest sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacoima, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly and made our stay very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast provided and the evening beer and wine reception (which included a meal) were wonderful. The kids also enjoyed the pool and made for a nice way to end to the days after visiting the local amusement parks and attractions. We all had a wonderful stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two years ago and had a positive experience. Our second stay was just as good. This is a nice hotel with outstanding employees. I usually don't take the time to write reviews on hotels but most of my experiences are average. This one was much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As a Diamond member I travel throughout the year and have stayed at numerous Homewood Suites. This is by far the best Homewood Suites I have ever stayed at. The service is impeccable. From the moment you check in to the time you leave they are on top of their game people. Do not stay anywhere else while you are in the San Diego area. They are nonstop on top of their game. The staff care about their guests. This has to happen from the Top, and the staff are bought in. Keep up the great work…See you in a couple of weeks when I return to San Diego for business..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a terrific place for a family to stay. The daily complimentary breakfast and certain night complimentary dinner makes travel easy and more affordable. The location of this hotel near Torrey Pines State Park and other beaches and not far from downtown was very pleasing for our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this Homewood Suites for the second time this year. We had stayed here for 2 weeks in February and were so impressed we returned again. Upon arrival, the front desk welcomed us back.

The staff at the buffet greeted us with smiles of recognition. My brother is in a wheelchair and as soon as we arrived, a chair was moved from a table to make room for him and there were the same caring offers of assistance. The accessible room with the roll in shower was well designed and easy to maneuver.

I can't say enough good things about this location! The entire staff are friendly, accommodating and always ready to fulfill any request from their guests. Kudos to the management of this location! It is not often that you can find a hotel with staff that treat their guests as "family"!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.