We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for extended stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #6 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great for extended stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have stayed more at Homewood Suites Del Mar in 2012 that I have at home. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by the white glove service extended to me. Plus, the food is awesome at breakfast and the welcome reception. Nice and comfy. You wouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    167
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
393
104
22
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mideast U.S.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The lobby and breakfast area here are kept up very nice. The staff was friendly and the free wi-fi, coffee, and other amenities were very good.

The room itself had a very worn look to it. Carpet stains, rust showing through paint on metal hinges, a dated coil top stove, the bathroom door scraped the vanity area light whenever you opened it, ironing board was dirty, etc. The place was not gross, don't get me wrong, it is just showing it's age.

I did get the impression that everything was cleaned and well maintained, if not a bit worn. I would stay here again if I had to do business in the immediate area. The rooms were a good size with two large flat screens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcFrancois, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We would like to first, thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor. Feedback like yours is critical in helping us deliver the highest standard of guest service and accommodations.

We would like to express our sincerest apologies that you were unhappy with the state of your suite. I have personally discussed this with our housekeeping team, to ensure you that if any of the products or fixtures in the suite are replaced when they fall below our very high standard. Furthermore, I'd like you to know that we will be upgrading our bedding package and replacing all of our easy chairs over the next year, with other in-room changes scheduled down the road. We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us the next time you are in San Diego.

Thank you again for your patronage, and your comments. If there are any further questions, comments, or follow-up items I may be able to address for you, please don't hesitate to contact me directly anytime. We're very sorry that your stay was not one-of-a-kind, and we hope to be able to welcome you back and provide you with one-of-a-kind service very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel was everthing that one would expect from a homewood suites - comfortable, clean, well appointed room, friendly staff, good free food (breakfast and evening reception). The location was convenient to the interstate, but far enough away to be quiet. Make sure you look up directions first as the hotel is a little hard to find.
Drawback - very few dining options near the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Off the beaten path, clean suite, free parking, complimentary breakfast. The suite was perfect for this family of 2 parents and a teenager. Board games need to be replaced, but front desk loaned us a deck of cards. Front desk and housekeeping very professional and helpful. After very busy days, it was nice to return to our quiet "home". This is the first hotel (ever!) that we did not hear slamming doors and loud guests in the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beautiful site, often-empty pool, handy to have supper provided, spacious suite, but most important is the friendly staff. Techno-savvy for those of us who aren't, knowledgeable about the area, never too busy to help you out. And they don't make you feel rushed if you want to linger an hour (or 2) in the dining room.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost for a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Homewood offers very comfortable rooms. The hotel is very quiet and in a nice area. There is easy access to freeways. They offer a variety of foods for breakfast that would please all types of preferences. In the evening they offer a dinner meal that has to be one of the best around. Each night is different with a salad, main course and an array of beverages including complimentary beer and wine.

Room Tip: Stay on the thrid floor the first week and the second floor the second week both were exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is very rare to find such a nice hotel where everything works just perfect and the people working in it are simply nice, polite and always in a good mood.
I strongly suggest you to try it out. The guys working at the bar/restaurant are super friendly so is the manager.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.