We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #7 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Colfax, Iowa, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We picked this hotel because we liked the reviews and thought we would take the risk. We arrived at 9 pm after a four hour drive and the Bistro 39 was very gracious to fix us a sandwich even when it was 5 minutes to closing. The free breakfast was good except the fruit was canned. Scrambled eggs and meat was always different which was great since we were there for four breakfasts. The weeknight dinner was only tried one evening and it was good also. The rooms are well kept and clean. Staff was very friendly. There is nothing in walking distance but we had a car so that was ok. Only a couple miles to restaurants or fast food if you need it. I do think it was a bit high for the price since you are not near the beaches or any attractions. One weird thing is that they need to trim their trees away from windows and walls. We had one windy night and they were scratching against windows and walls. We will stay again since none of these are major complaints for us.

Room Tip: Not within walking distance of anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    186
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
447
130
24
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife, daughter, two young grandsons and I had a great stay at Homewood Suites in SD/Delmar. We thought breakfast was good. My 2.5 yr grandson was especially pleased with the Mickey Mouse pancakes offered Sunday morning. The staff were all efficient and friendly. The room was quiet (really important for the other guests when traveling with a toddler and a baby), clean, and well kept. There was Starbucks coffee available around the clock!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here while visiting San Diego for a day at Sea World. The hotel was great. We had the complimentary dinner the first night we arrived. The food was decent considering most hotels do not offer an evening meal. Breakfast was good, the room was clean and quiet. I did have a couple of small issues though. 1. the pool was cold, I do not think they heat it 2. the dryer in the laundry room took all night to dry a load of laundry 3. there are no services within walking distance, the hotel is in a business park, this was not an issue for us but may be for someone staying there without a car. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego and looking for a nice quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been a gem find for my family of travelers. We stayed a week and have to say that the employees were really top notch when it came to customer service. Nearly every single person made us feel welcome and/or went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The grounds were kept up. Breakfast every morning was very convenient and not too crowded.. The waffles were our favorite. A great bonus also was the complimentary nightly dinner service. Comfort foods and fresh salad fixings made it easy for us after a long day at Sea World, the Zoo, or our beach adventures.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten path but located in a very nice and quiet part of Del Mar. We found upscale restaurants just to the north and and we really didn't mind the short 15 minute drive to the theme parks, Mission Beach, etc. Each of the three families in our party would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to others looking for a relaxing and less crowded accommodation option.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I am a long time Hilton Honors Gold Member & actually stayed next store at the Garden Inn last time I was in SD. A few things this hotel needs to work on:
1. Breakfast is very weak--how about individual yogart containers instead of that hugh bowl of it that sits out for hours.
2. No fresh fruit--all canned--can't remember I saw that anywhere decent.
3. The front door is not an automatic door that is just about standard everywhere else.
4. My inside door lock (that bracket you use to make sure not even the housekeeper can't come in) was broken--When I asked yo have it fixed--it will have to wait until Monday.
5. I will say the rooms were very neat & clean & the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine but the breakfast is one of the weakest I've ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I appreciate your recent review of our property. I understand that you were disappointed with your meal selections and we will review our offerings, keeping your recommendations in mind. I am very sorry that the lock was not fixed prior to the end of your stay, but appreciate you bringing this to my attention. The next time you are in town please visit us again. We truly do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel was excellent for the money. The location was within a half hour of San Diego Zoo, Sea World and Legoland. The room was clean and very comfortable. We were able to choose our room prior to our stay. The staff were very courteous, helpful and friendly. The staff made our stay so much better. We have three small children and they were very accommodating to all of us. The breakfast buffett was great every morning and the dinner and drinks in the evening was wonderful as well. The pool and hot tub were great after a long day of walking. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to the San Diego area. Did not use the spa but I am sure it was probably excellent as was the rest of the Hotel features.

Room Tip: Do the pre checkin to select your room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I frequently travel to San Diego for business and usally stay a little closer to the work site, Selected Homewood as I was scheduled on site for three weeks. Great choice! The property is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff is really what breaks this property out of the pack, Very helpful and friendly. The location is not near shopping or dining but it is very quiet, and after a hard day on the job quiet is very good. The breakfast and evening food selections are excellent. From now on my stay in the San Diego area will be at the Homewood Suites Del Mar

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.