We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking, free excellent breakfast - great San Diego value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #5 of 270 hotels in San Diego
TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Free parking, free excellent breakfast - great San Diego value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We visit San Diego frequently and each time stay at a different hotel. In terms of value, Homewood Suites Sorrento Valley is the best. Many places charge for parking, and not just $5! The suite had a flat-screen T.V. in the living room and bedroom, which was nice. The small kitchen was suitably furnished and very clean. There was a soccer tournament the weekend we stayed, so the place was full of parents and kids. The breakfast scene was crazy, but the staff worked tirelessly to keep the tables bussed and clean, the floors clean, the food replenished. Hats off to the terrific breakfast crew. The rooms were clean; the hotel clean. Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and laundry facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    152
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
356
99
21
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights (4/24-25/12) while on a "sister trip". I chose this hotel because we were on our way down the CA coast and inland to Joshua Tree and wanted to visit San Diego , the SD zoo, Balboa Park and the Mission. It was a perfect location and so easy to get around the SD area from here. Our room was exceptionally nice, clean, well furnished and large enough for two sisters! The front desk service made us feel right at home and took the extra time to make sure we "liked" our room. The evening reception and morning breakfast was tasty with more than enough food for everyone. The location is quiet. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: If you are an Hilton HHonors member, this hotel allows the use of points and dollars which made our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancunium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

When I write reviews of hotels, I don't usually struggle to find something that I can criticise, but when the best that I can come up with is that the bench in the fitness room isn't adjustable, you get the idea that this place made me VERY happy. From the nice touches like the wrapped half grapefruit on the breakfast bar, to the friendly but efficient support of all the staff that we came into contact with from arriving to departure 5 days later, the Homewood at Del Mar delivered and exceeded expectations every day.

Useful tip? Whole foods at La Jolla is just 5 minutes away if you like to do your own thing in the well equipped kitchenette - well worth the drive.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

After spending a week at Homewood Suites a strongly recommend them to anyone traveling to the San Diego area.
Why we recommend HS:
1. Location: We enjoyed how close we were to all of the major Southern California attractions. We went to Seaworld, Zoo, Legoland, and Knott's Berry Farm. Knott's was a long drive, but the rest were close. The hotel was also a short drive to the nice beaches in La Jolla.
2. Service: The employees rock at the superior service they give to their customers. We arrived twelve hours early for check in and they let us check in early. This was very nice after a twelve hour drive through the night. Whenever I had a question I just called the hotel and they answered it. Even if they had to look it up.
3. Complimentary Breakfast and Dinner Monday-Thursday: We really enjoyed not having to worry about cooking or where to eat. This also saved us a lot of money. It was also nice to have to clean up dinner dishes. The employees take good care of you during their complimentary meals.
4. Room Size: We found the rooms to be very spacious and perfect for our family of five. It was nice having the two bathrooms.
5. Pool and Fitness Facility: We used these everyday sometimes several times a day. If we didn't feel like driving to the beach we went to the pool. The hot tub is nice and hot and well maintained. The fitness facility has two treadmills, one elliptical, and one bike. There were weights, mats, and a ball.
I recommend this hotel and we really felt like it was our home in San Diego. Thanks Homewood!

Room Tip: We loved our room because it stayed cool and it was away from all other rooms. It was really quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We've stayed in many Homewoods Suites and without a doubt this is the very best Homewood Suites we've been in. Everything from the decor, the hospitality of the staff, the breakfast buffet, to the location, etc., could not have been better! The 1 bedroom suites are spacious, the bed and pillows are extremely comfortable... even the sofa in the living area is comfortable!

This hotel is located in a corporate office area, set back off I-5, therefore there is no noise from the freeway. Another reviewer commented that it is a long way to restaurants. We didn't find that to be true because we stayed on the east side of I-5, although I think if one had driven over to the west side (coast side) of I-5, the restaurants would have been some distance. Actualy if one leaves the hotel and follows Vista Sorrento Parkway to Mira Mesa Blvd and turns left (east) there are a number of restaurants and several service stations within 15 minutes of the hotel.

This hotel is also conveniently located not only to the downtown area of San Diego as well as to La Jolla, Solano Beach (Cedros Design District) and Carlsbad. Just across I-5 is the Torrey Pines reserve and Highway 1 and it's close to the cliffs where one can watch parasailing. It is really a nice alternative to staying in a downtown San Diego hotel where one pays a fairly high rate for overnight parking. At the Homewood Suites, not only are the nightly rates reasonable, but the parking is free. Couple that with the light meal Monday-Thursday and the complimentary breakfast, this is really a bargain for southern California!

This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great stay! This hotel is clean, well run and has a great staff. The rooms are cleaned early so when you came back mid afternoon from your activities you could come back and relax. The breakfast buffet has many and plenty choices with the hot entree changing every day. The dinners served on weekdays are an amazing bargin. Beer and wine are served with it and the staff will come around and ask you if you would like more. You definitely feel like you are welcome. I cannot wait to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This property continues to impress me. From the staff, to the rooms, to the friendly environment- you absolutely cannot complain. They go out of their way to appease everyone. The breakfast and dinner options are always extremely tasty and hearty. And with all-inclusive wine & beer, what more could you ask for?! Don't forget to go next door to the Hilton Garden Inn while you're here and enjoy a drink and 1/2 price appetizers at Bistro 39. You will not regret choosing this property for your stay; either vacation, business, romantic, or any other reason, you will be completely satisfied and happy about your decision!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites
San Diego Homewood
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar to your Saves list