We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking anyone?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Trails Regional Park

Mission Trails Regional Park
1 Father Junipero Serra Trail, San Diego, CA 92119
619 668 3281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 495 things to do in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Just a few minutes from downtown San Diego, Mission Trails Regional park has hiking trails, campgrounds, fishing, picnic facilities, and lots of wide open spaces. Run, bike or walk and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful scenery.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hiking anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Love this preserve! Pack a lunch, leash your dog(s) and get out for an amazing day of hiking in the San Diego outback (which is relatively close to civilization)! There are several routes in so pick the pone that best suits your wants!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Beauty in my own backyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

There is something for everyone at Mission Trails. People who complain about Cowles Mountain: there are so many other hikes to choose from, use your brain and your eyes, look at a trail map. I could throw a rock from my house and hit the trailhead for Cowles but it is too overcrowded right now. I go over to the Old Dam or the visitor and choose from the many hikes that start from those locations. You can choose from beginner to advanced and it is a great place to take your dog (but keep them on a leash and clean up their mess!). It's hotter than blazes right now but you can go early in the morning or later in the evening. A little creative thinking goes a long way.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lots of Places to Explore but Suddenly Got Popular...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I revel in the fact that I live so close to this place and I go each week to hike Cowles Mountain. My only complaint is that there seems to be an influx of people coming to the mountain now and some even seem aggressive with their hiking space.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cool old Mission Dam, varied hiking conditions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Staff at the visitors center very friendly, helpful, and knowlegeable. Suggested unpublished "off the map" secret hike. Decided on Oak Canyon Trail. Parts shaded, but predominantly exposed to sun. Saw some interesting lizards. Unfortunatly we had to cut our hike a bit short as my girlfriend was growing increasingly unsettled about the many Rattlesnake warning signs we encountered (but no actual snakes). I'd like to come back here to explore further at some point.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

There are nice hiking trails around the park for all ability levels. Get a map or guide book before you tackle the more remote trails.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Trails Regional Park also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Mission Trails Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Trails Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.