We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST GREEK FOOD EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands Cafe

Greek Islands Cafe
Seaport Village, 879 W Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
6192395216
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #639 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Greek, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Greek Islands Cafe has been open in the same location for 34 years. With our picturesque views and amazing homemade food, its has been a local favorite for many years and hopefully years to come. All our desserts are made in house and well as some of our specialties like Pasticcio and Spanakopits as well as Dolmades.
Bellaire, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BEST GREEK FOOD EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I actually ate here for dinner one night and the next day for lunch! Outstanding greek food! It is family owned and operated, and such a treat! Super clean and super tasty! Fun to sit outside and eat by the water!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food overall was very good. I will not say it was to die for, but for having "healthier" alternative to eat at in this area works for me. Great areas outside front or back to sit and let the kids run around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you enjoy Greek food, the Greek Islands Cafe is a must! The atmosphere is very casual offering inside and outside seating. Orders are taken at the counter and each platter is made individually to order. Ingredients were very fresh and the portions were huge! My husband had the Souvlaki plate and I had the grilled Chicken salad plate. Both came with a generous amount of salad and pita bread. A sign in the restaurant stated it had been around for 32 years...no wonder to us!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gyros are average, I'd come back though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nothing too special about their food - I'm a big Greek food connoisseur though. I had the gyro with a side of spanakopita. The gyro was pretty good, nothing to write home about but I'd order it again. The spanakopita however was some of the worst I've had. The pastry was soggy (meaning not fresh) so who knows how long it had been sitting around - or perhaps they warmed it up in the microwave? It's a decent option for the seaport village though which from my experience is a bit lacking in good food. If I'm staying at a nearby hotel again, I'd give Greek Islands a second chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“we came back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had eaten here several years ago and on this anniversary trip I was looking forward to coming back. I love greek food.
Last time I am pretty sure I just ordered the gyros without even looking at the menu. This time I noticed they had souvlaki. The difference? Not much, the meat. It was wonderful. I had a huge salad on the side. Hubby had the grilled chicken/salad. Good to, but not as good as mine! Beautiful day sitting outside by the water, shooooing off the pigeons. Nice greek music. A fav spot for me when in town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.