We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands Cafe

Greek Islands Cafe
Seaport Village, 879 W Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA (Downtown)
6192395216
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Greek, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
Harwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Not cheap but no more expensive than anywhere else in the area.
Freshly prepared food and very tasty.
If you like greek food this is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    24
    27
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not black tie, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here on a Groupon special, but we'd go back anytime. It's one of the many small cafes at Seaport Village, but in its own way, a standout. I'd give it a 5, but I generally reserve that for the fancier spots. Okay, it's not fancy. In fact, it's order-at-the-counter, so it's not much on ambiance; but those things aside, the food is very good and very plentiful at a very reasonable price. Another plus is that it has a nice view of the harbor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Greek Restaurant in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been eating here for thirty-forty years. The ambience is Greek, the Muzak is Greek songs, you can view the sailboats on San Diego Bay. So if you're like us, and have never been to Greece, this is the closest we can get. We almost always have the Gyro Platter with extra meat and pita - which makes it just right for two; the meat is delicious and the Greek Salad is also. They serve been and wine, and sitting outside on a sunny day ,listening to the Greek music, is one of our most enjoyable dining experiences in San Diego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Have to eat here. Best Gyros on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well second trip here since we got into San Diego on sat. That should say it all.
Anything you order WILL be plentiful n delish!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“best gyro ever! and always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Well I ranted to my bro in law on the way down from Canada about this greek gyro place in San Diego. Joked that it was the reason for my trip.
Well we made it, went the next day for lunch after doing Hodads the night prior.
Gyros are THE best, nothing else comes close. Price is right and portions are huge.
You can go wrong, incredible food,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.