We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS Midway Museum

USS Midway Museum
910 N. Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
619-544-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 237 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Ships, Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The USS Midway Museum is San Diego’s newest visitor attraction, this real naval aircraft carrier offers a once in a lifetime opportunity for everyone. Guests of all ages can enjoy a self-guided audio tour featuring 60 exhibits highlighting this “city at sea” and 25 restored aircrafts. Explore galleys, officer’s country and sleeping quarters of a 69,000 ton ship, naturally located in Navy Town USA, a visit to the Midway is uniquely San Diego!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Regina, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Massive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I love Military History, so this was right up my alley. Only complaint was people getting in the way of pictures and being rude towards the people trying to explain different parts of the ship. Loved it. A must see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,036
    1,580
    159
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It was great.. enjoyed the history and the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Disliked:When we got to the location, there was suppose to be free parking, but we arrived around noonish and then the lot was full. Only place we found was across from the ship/ same side of the road, and it was metered and limit of 2 hours... so we had to go back after two hours and put in more coins.. we wasted some valuable time

Liked: The history of the ship and the self-guided tour.. we had 4 hours and yet we didn't see it all. If you want to participate in the talks they give and see all the ship plan on at least 4 hours or more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Aircraft carrier is amazing. The tours by ex-navy along with the audio tour make it a excellent day out

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“USS Midway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Expect to spend a few hours on it and bring cash. Try the flight simulator and if you are tall then there will be a lot of head ducking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We were in Awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were all in Awe of this Magnificent ship. We spent hours traveling on all the decks. The information available for us to read was so informative. We would definitely come here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Midway Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Midway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Midway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.