We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS Midway Museum

USS Midway Museum
910 N. Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
619-544-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #1 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Military Museums, Ships, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The USS Midway Museum is San Diego’s newest visitor attraction, this real naval aircraft carrier offers a once in a lifetime opportunity for everyone. Guests of all ages can enjoy a self-guided audio tour featuring 60 exhibits highlighting this “city at sea” and 25 restored aircrafts. Explore galleys, officer’s country and sleeping quarters of a 69,000 ton ship, naturally located in Navy Town USA, a visit to the Midway is uniquely San Diego!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Aircraft carrier is amazing. The tours by ex-navy along with the audio tour make it a excellent day out

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,545
    1,716
    175
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“USS Midway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Expect to spend a few hours on it and bring cash. Try the flight simulator and if you are tall then there will be a lot of head ducking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We were in Awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were all in Awe of this Magnificent ship. We spent hours traveling on all the decks. The information available for us to read was so informative. We would definitely come here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Remarkable Piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very thorough and informative. Having the audio tour was great. So much bigger than expected, and I expected it to be huge! Prepare to walk a lot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressive and inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This museum was so much more than I was expecting. I thought I would spend at most 1-2 hours touring this boat, and 4 hours later I still felt there was more to see. As others have said, this "museum" is well organized. The docents posted throughout the carrier are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Many had actually served upon the ship and were eager to talk about their experiences. I could go on for sometime, but the bottom line is that this is one of the best military museums I have ever been too. I felt I really had some sense of what the day to day life might have been like aboard the ship and found and even deeper respect for the men and women who serve in our military. *Please note, many areas of the ship require climbing up and down steep, narrow stairs. While there are parts that are wheelchair, stroller accessible, many parts of the ship are only accessible by foot. Those who are uncomfortable in tight, small spaces or who have trouble climbing stairs would not be able to see many parts of the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Midway Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Midway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Midway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.