We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable Piece of History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USS Midway Museum

USS Midway Museum
910 N. Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
619-544-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 231 attractions in San Diego
Type: Ships, Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The USS Midway Museum is San Diego’s newest visitor attraction, this real naval aircraft carrier offers a once in a lifetime opportunity for everyone. Guests of all ages can enjoy a self-guided audio tour featuring 60 exhibits highlighting this “city at sea” and 25 restored aircrafts. Explore galleys, officer’s country and sleeping quarters of a 69,000 ton ship, naturally located in Navy Town USA, a visit to the Midway is uniquely San Diego!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Remarkable Piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very thorough and informative. Having the audio tour was great. So much bigger than expected, and I expected it to be huge! Prepare to walk a lot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,738
    1,492
    148
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressive and inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This museum was so much more than I was expecting. I thought I would spend at most 1-2 hours touring this boat, and 4 hours later I still felt there was more to see. As others have said, this "museum" is well organized. The docents posted throughout the carrier are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Many had actually served upon the ship and were eager to talk about their experiences. I could go on for sometime, but the bottom line is that this is one of the best military museums I have ever been too. I felt I really had some sense of what the day to day life might have been like aboard the ship and found and even deeper respect for the men and women who serve in our military. *Please note, many areas of the ship require climbing up and down steep, narrow stairs. While there are parts that are wheelchair, stroller accessible, many parts of the ship are only accessible by foot. Those who are uncomfortable in tight, small spaces or who have trouble climbing stairs would not be able to see many parts of the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best museum Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited the Midway today...by far the best museum experience I have had. The docents were very knowledgable about the ship and seemed to have a passion for sharing. The audible tour is an excellent touch and really brings life to the tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Impressive from every angle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After an illustrious career as a United States Navy aircraft carrier, the USS CVB/CVA/CV-41 Midway was decommissioned in 1992. Berthed at San Diego Harbor, the carrier has become a major tourist attraction, opening in 2004. One of the primary functions of the museum is to recount the history of the USS Midway. Commissioned a week after the end of World War II, until 1955, the USS Midway was the largest ship in the world, too big to sail through the Panama Canal. Serving for an unprecedented 47 years, the USS Midway was active in the Vietnam War, and was flagship in Operation Desert Storm in the Middle East conflict. The bridge tours that are provided give visitors a closer look at the operational aspects of the carrier and are very heavily subscribed so that one of the first things to do is to find out when the next tour is on. Museum volunteers that are very knowledgable conduct the tours and many of them are veterans who have a really fascinating story of their own. To go through the numerous displays, it is also best to pick up an audio set as many of the aircraft and equipment are quite complex for the casual visitor, and the audio guide also is useful in pacing yourself around the ship. There is a large gift shop at the end of the lower deck, along with a restaurant. For adults, it is the carrier and its complement of aircraft that is the attraction but for young people, there are a number of simulators that had long lineups, so check them out early in your visit. Other nearby attractions include the Bob Hope Memorial, made up of life size statues which plays his USO tour audio from World War II and the Complete Surrender statue (mimicking the "kiss" in Times Square). My wife and I visited the USS Midway after dark and stumbled into the Bob Hope Memorial with the audio from the USO tour becoming an eerie connection to Hope's perennial tours to the front, this time the Pacific Theater.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Day at the Midway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband was very interested in visiting the midway and I was pleasantly surprised how much i enjoyed the visit. The volunteer staff are helpful and informative and I was amazed at the sheer size of the vessel. Good value and fun for the whole family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Midway Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Midway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Midway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.