We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USS Midway Museum

USS Midway Museum
910 N. Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
619-544-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$18*
and up
Ranked #1 of 349 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The USS Midway Museum is San Diego’s newest visitor attraction, this real naval aircraft carrier offers a once in a lifetime opportunity for everyone. Guests of all ages can enjoy a self-guided audio tour featuring 60 exhibits highlighting this “city at sea” and 25 restored aircrafts. Explore galleys, officer’s country and sleeping quarters of a 69,000 ton ship, naturally located in Navy Town USA, a visit to the Midway is uniquely San Diego!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
551 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Midway gives a glimpse of what life is like aboard an aircraft carrier. One can wonder for hours taking in the exhibits and then relax on the back deck and have a lunch or a drink. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,753
    2,317
    226
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Unbelievable! A must see for anyone who is interested in war machines. Planes, helicopters, the control bridge and even the captain's seat is available for visiting.

the corridors and stairs are claustrophobic and you keep thinking all the time, how those men did to survive in such space.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fascinating look at aircraft carrier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a must-see attraction in San Diego. This is a chance to see what it is really like on a Navy aircraft carrier. I should know--I was a pilot flying F-4 Phantoms on MIDWAY in the later 70s. For me, this was a nostaligic visit to a ship that had been my "home" for almost three years. They have done a great job in making it a museum. You can roam through many spaces from the bridge through the ready rooms past the berthing compartments down to the engine room. There are even flight simulators on the hangar deck. Kids would love it. One caution . . . there are some pretty steep ladders, so those with mobility issues could have some problems.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good to visit for historical reasons and old technology”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lots of walking up and down narrow ladders and corridors, but fascinating to listen to the history of this old ship and the people who served on it. Small compared to the carriers nowadays, but still quite large. Loved the old aircraft on display on the main deck.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“All good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm not really a naval history junkie but whenever there is a ship to see, either serving or decommissioned, I like to have a look. Because we were running late, we only got there at 3pm (it shuts at 5pm) so didn't see everything on offer. What we did see and learn made the trip worthwhile. It was a well laid out museum and self guided tour. I would recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Midway Museum also viewed

 

Been to USS Midway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Midway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.