We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 3,981 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“You can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Only stopped by for breakfast...every day we were in town. It's so affordable and absolutely amazing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    276
    88
    32
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, but Ranked Too High”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here because it was close to our hotel, and ranked so high on Trip Advisor. Okay, Number 4? This is a place with simple breakfast fare in huge portions for cheap. Don't get me wrong, the food is good, but compared to what is available in San Diego I really don't think this is the 4th greatest restaurant in San Diego....

If you are in the area and hungry, then by all means check it out. You will be full at the end of your meal and not unhappy. Bring cash; no credit cards here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

fun and simple. The food portions are huge and very good. not a lot of flash or flare, but well worth the experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast near the pier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We got here right at 7 when they open and there was already a line down the block. We had the breakfast sammie, burrito and Kono potatoes. Amazing.

Great service, charming atmosphere and unbeatable price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After reading all the hype about Kono's, I made it a must-try for a recent trip to San Diego. In a word, great. The lineups are well-earned.

The value is excellent -- portions are massive and those with moderate appetites may want to share. I found I could eat breakfast in the morning and then last until supper time. Food is fantastic, from their burritos to their more traditional breakfast plates. After visiting on our first morning, Kono's wound up being our go-to breakfast location.

Tip: For tourists, it might not be apparent that there's additional seating deck that overlooks the ocean. We didn't find out until after we'd been there for a couple of days.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Kono's Cafe to your Saves list