We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast by the pier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Springville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast by the pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A great little breakfast spot near the pier in Pacific Beach. Long line, but it moves fast. The 'big breakfast' for $7 I think, is enough to split with a friend. Outdoor seating next to the restaurant as well as across the boardwalk, behind a shop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    115
    41
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lowest prices around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Kono's was about a ten-minute walk from our hotel and we're glad that we went early. It doesn't take long for a long line of customers to form. The line goes quickly, though. The food is pretty standard breakfast fare so don't expect a wide spectrum of diverse meals. However, it is served in large amounts. If you are a light eater, you may want to share a breakfast with your partner. Prices are unbelievably low for the size of the breakfast. The coffee is good, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were fortunate that Kono's was right next to our hotel for the week we were in San Diego. We made daily visits, first because of the good reviews, and then because we loved it. It took a couple of days to realize that the outdoor seating was both next to the restaurant AND across the 'boardwalk', behind the shop. Once we found the oceanfront seating, there was no going back, although the people watching from the outdoor seating was good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place at Pacific Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located right at the Pacific Pier this is a very nice place to have a breakfast. Very fast service, you cue at the ordering window and order and it will be delivered to your table. Not the healthiest of BF but soooo tasty and delicious. There is another outside patio across the street behind the rental shop. Stop here for a breakfast and you will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Pacific Beach, maybe San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There is a queue out of the door at 7am in the morning. Just the most delicious breakfast menu ever. Go for the big breakfast and share between two - otherwise don't eat for three days! Choice of three seating areas, two outdoors looking out over the Ocean and watching the walking and surfers.

Good coffee too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.