We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Place at Pacific Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 3,693 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place at Pacific Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located right at the Pacific Pier this is a very nice place to have a breakfast. Very fast service, you cue at the ordering window and order and it will be delivered to your table. Not the healthiest of BF but soooo tasty and delicious. There is another outside patio across the street behind the rental shop. Stop here for a breakfast and you will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    138
    48
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Pacific Beach, maybe San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There is a queue out of the door at 7am in the morning. Just the most delicious breakfast menu ever. Go for the big breakfast and share between two - otherwise don't eat for three days! Choice of three seating areas, two outdoors looking out over the Ocean and watching the walking and surfers.

Good coffee too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Huge portions of rich heavy breakfast - not really my thing but nice chilled beach vibe on the plus side.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really as good as they say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were sent here by a local working at our hotel. We were told it is worth the wait in line, and it was. Also, wait wasn't that long, line moved very fast. Great breakfast. I had French Toast and my husband had some kind of egg scramble...portions were good size but I could have eaten more, wow it was really good. Go there during your visit to the beach!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best place to eat Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place was just steps away from our hotel. It is off the pacific beach and boardwalk. I ordered scramble eggs, bacon and french toast. My husband ordered scramble eggs, bacon, potatoes, pancakes. It was very delicious and large amount of food. We could have shared. We had to wait a little while in line but didn't have to wait too long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.