We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best place to eat Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place was just steps away from our hotel. It is off the pacific beach and boardwalk. I ordered scramble eggs, bacon and french toast. My husband ordered scramble eggs, bacon, potatoes, pancakes. It was very delicious and large amount of food. We could have shared. We had to wait a little while in line but didn't have to wait too long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    294
    99
    38
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iran
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is very very crowded, we stayed one hour in line. we ordered pancakes and scramble egg with English bagel. It was fantastic. I really enjoyed it. It is a must in pacific beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast With a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great food and the Pacific out the window! Don't let the long line scare you....it moves fast and is well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots of food for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Went with my husband and two teenagers for lunch. We ordered bacon cheeseburgers, chicken jalapeno pita and chicken caesar salad. Tons of food and it tasted great. Even with a teenage boy we had lots of leftovers. Reasonable prices too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice little cafe, good food for reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The place is a small cafe at San Diego pier. The atmosphere is nice, the menu is limited but the food is good, prices are reasonable. Perfect stopover when you walk at the beach, but nothing outstanding. Mind the fact that they close at 3pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
San Diego, CA
 
La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.