We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must" stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 3,728 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
chandler
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A "must" stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

You just can't leave San Diego and go home without having breakfast at Kono's at least once. The line may be long, but it is so worth the wait. The burrito's are stuffed full and always taste great!! Just a reminder, they only accept cash.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    147
    49
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
246 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice spot for brecky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good value, good food, good location, good portions, good choices whats not to like??
well the Que, but good things come to thee who waits.
I would definatly come back here. On this trip to the states I have stood in line for meny an eatery, this was one of the few that was worth it.

if its windy eat inside if not eat out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Finally stopped here after seeing the long lines for years and we were not disappointed! Hubby ordered a burrito which was HUGE - chocked full of potatoes, eggs, bacon & cheese while I opted for the breakfast sandwich which was egg, cheese and tomato on an English muffin. Both were just delicious. Of course the view overlooking the beach didn't hurt either! (Don't let the line scare you away from this place, because it's so small inside, there aren't more than 10 people actually IN line inside the building) The line moves fast and food comes out quickly. Super affordable and totally worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast burrito anytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here today. Fast, cheap, friendly, close to the beach - perfect before or after beach and pier strolls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food at a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Walked from boardwalk condo. Waited in line for about 15-20 minutes. We ordered for kids (12 and 14) Egg Burrito #3 to split and wife and I Big breakfast #1 to split. The burrito's are huge and flavorful. Our Big Breakfast was tasty. We did not order drinks and had the free water. Sat inside on this day because the patio's were full and a table opened up as we ordered. Typically you wait until you order to get your own seating, however larger groups of people might take opening tables ahead of time. This is about the only hassle, unless you are driving here and then you have to find parking. The food is good, we got out under $15 for four. We will come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.