We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Finally stopped here after seeing the long lines for years and we were not disappointed! Hubby ordered a burrito which was HUGE - chocked full of potatoes, eggs, bacon & cheese while I opted for the breakfast sandwich which was egg, cheese and tomato on an English muffin. Both were just delicious. Of course the view overlooking the beach didn't hurt either! (Don't let the line scare you away from this place, because it's so small inside, there aren't more than 10 people actually IN line inside the building) The line moves fast and food comes out quickly. Super affordable and totally worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    115
    41
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast burrito anytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here today. Fast, cheap, friendly, close to the beach - perfect before or after beach and pier strolls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food at a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Walked from boardwalk condo. Waited in line for about 15-20 minutes. We ordered for kids (12 and 14) Egg Burrito #3 to split and wife and I Big breakfast #1 to split. The burrito's are huge and flavorful. Our Big Breakfast was tasty. We did not order drinks and had the free water. Sat inside on this day because the patio's were full and a table opened up as we ordered. Typically you wait until you order to get your own seating, however larger groups of people might take opening tables ahead of time. This is about the only hassle, unless you are driving here and then you have to find parking. The food is good, we got out under $15 for four. We will come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love going to Kono's and my last stop here was no exception! Love the service and love the big meal. Very tasty. If you are looking for a great place to eat then you hav found it at Kono's Cafe!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Kono's in Pacific Beach is the place to be for breakfast. Martin greets you with a huge smile and places your order. It's just a fun morning for sure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.