We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is SO good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This place is SO good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went there on a Sunday around lunch. We had to wait about 30-45 minutes to order, but once you order, the food comes out in less than 5 minutes. It is definitely worth the wait! The food is so good! I had the breakfast sandwich and my husband had one of their breakfast burritos. We also got the Kono's potatoes on the side. The potatoes were probably the best part - cheese, jalapenos, seasoning - YUM! Pretty sure I would go back just for the potatoes.

They also serve lunch, and some of their sandwiches sounded pretty good. I might try one of those if we get a chance to go next time. I definitely wish there was one of these close to where I live....I might eat there too often if that were the case!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    115
    41
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Kono's Burritos Great San Diego-Pacific Beach Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The breakfast burritos are tremendous. Great selection and take out, eat on one of the two patios, or eat in. Great coffee and free refills.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good prices, excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kono's is definitely worth checking out if you're in the Pacific Beach area. Portion sizes are huge, indoor and outdoor seating (ocean view if your sitting on the patio), prices are very reasonable, between 6-8 dollars per meal. We ordered two burritos for a family of three, and in all reality, one burrito could have fed all three of us. The food is pretty simple, fresh & good ingredients is always good. There is about a 10-15 minute wait in line, but its not because of slow service, but just the amount of business they do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast/Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended Konos to us for breakfast, and we were not disappointed. Yummy food, huge portions, friendly staff, outside dining. Enjoyed the bacon scramble & the pancakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic cheap food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Food was average, priced cheap with large portions. Right by the beach, great location.Went twice during our vacation the first day we ordered a combo and it was huge. The second day I ordered just french toast, (with intentions to share with my daughter) I was expecting their huge portions like everything else and was disappointed to only have two peices of toast and was almost the same price as their combo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.