We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic cheap food, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Basic cheap food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Food was average, priced cheap with large portions. Right by the beach, great location.Went twice during our vacation the first day we ordered a combo and it was huge. The second day I ordered just french toast, (with intentions to share with my daughter) I was expecting their huge portions like everything else and was disappointed to only have two peices of toast and was almost the same price as their combo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    135
    47
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visiting Kory in Pacific Beach with my wife Karen and what a great breakfst place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went a year ago and I can can still taste the delicious burrito flavors. Without a doubt a very big bang for your buck here at Kono's Cafe. Always a line but it moves fast. We have to get one of these on the east coast or something like it! This is a destination when in S.D., CA.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place for cheap food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here almost every morning of our 4 day stay in PB. The service was excellent, and the food was prepared very quickly for our group of 5. The portions are ENORMOUS. Even the little breakfast was way too much for me to eat. For the price (between 4-7$), the food is definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast by the Beach!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Well I've been coming here with my parents for years. I'm 36 now and when we travel to San Diego area this is the place I now bring my kids. Great atmosphere when not packed by locals or in our case tourist. Lines can get long but if you have time worth the value for the quality of food. Just for example we share plates it's a lot of eggs and fried potatoes! Fresh toast is yummy and the kids love it! Keep in mind when visiting this establishment it's "SURFER FOOD"!! You won't be disappointed. Grab a seat across the street by the bike,gift shop balcony and enjoy your breakfast as you watch the waves break against the shore!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast deal on Pacific Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Even if this place was a dive hole in the wall on a side street, the line would still be out the door--generous servings and easy on the wallet.
Mountains of scrambled eggs laced with onions, peppers, sausage or bacon and cheesy homemade fried potatoes, the works for breakfast for seven bucks. Breakfast served all day.
Right across the beach walkway from Kono's is a beachfront deck where they will serve up your breakfast in less than ten minutes. Self ordering at their window but they will bring it to you on the deck.
Your view is of Crystal Pier and the ocean, fifty yards from your seat. Enjoy that San Diego sun and pleasant shore breeze while you relax and watch the surfers, bicyclers, roller bladers and joggers. I'd much rather be relaxing in the sun, chatting, eating and taking pictures !
Expect a line on the weekends. The solution? Park one person in line with the breakfast orders, and the rest can browse for beachwear and art right across the beach walkway, or enjoy the coffee/espresso bar next door with its own deck in the shade. You get the ambiance of Pacific Beach and a great deal for breakfast.
Weekdays? Short line. We went off season at 11 and there were only a few people in line. An all in one beach venture, a great meal and a scenic beachy venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.