We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great early lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Sunday. The queue was out of the door and well into the street at around 11.30am. It's a really popular place, and understandably so. Great food and very reasonable prices (think it was day 704 without a price rise when we visited!).

We can higly recommend the Konos burgers - delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    115
    41
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It was aiiiiiiight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Considering that this place is given #1 I really don't think it was all that. The value is great, the food was really good, but nothing amazing. I would suggest it if you're nearby, but otherwise eh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Excellent Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What can I say about this place! Great food, amazing prices, huge portions, fantastic friendly service and a perfect location. Only negative, I went into a food coma for about an hour after and could only relax and lay on the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool, local dive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had lunch at Kono's right on the beach in San Diego. Clearly a local favorite as the line was long and consistent. It's a tiny little spot with an outside deck for eating; therefore, the inside fills up quickly. The service is friendly and fast. Free refills on drinks, too.

My daughter had the kiddo dog which was very good! The hot dog was scored and grilled and so was the bun. My husband and I had the jalepeno chicken pita. The grilled chicken was tender and juicy and it was served with grilled, diced veggies (onions and peppers) and topped with a pico de gallo, diced tomatoes, sliced jalepenos, shredded lettuce and ranch dressing. The pita was huge and covered the entire plate. We couldn't eat it all, it was so big. But very filling and priced fairly at $6.95.

Nice spot to grab a bite if you're "beaching it" all day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beat the lines and breakfast early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The first time I came to Kono’s was at 11 am one Sunday morning. The queue (OK: line as the locals say) was long and we waited over one hour before getting in. However the wait was worth it: I enjoyed one of the best breakfasts on American soil: “Big Breakfast 2” with pancakes instead of potatoes for under $ 6 (see photo).

I returned a week later at 7 am when they opened: no lines and another great breakfast followed by a pleasant stroll on the beach. You know a place must be good if the local police department have breakfast there.

As I write these lines, Kono’s is rated No. 1 restaurant in San Diego. Other visitors from Europe might be surprised that a restaurant which only opens 7 am to 4 pm and which presents its food on throw-away plates with plastic cutlery might have such a high rating. Well, if you offer quality and value in an excellent location, you are onto a winner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.