We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pailin Thai Cafe

Pailin Thai Cafe
16441 Bernardo Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2523
+1 858-674-4665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,480 of 4,139 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: We prepare traditional Thai food every day. Only the best ingredients are used and your meal is made fresh after you order. We also have a range of vegetarian options. Our goal at the restaurant is to provide you with the best Asian food you have ever had! Our Thai restaurant will give you the feeling of a tradition. Come visit and enjoy our delectable entrees. We look forward to serving you the finest taste of Thai cuisine!
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good Thai food, nothing fancy, but decent Thai food served in a reasonable amount of time and very tasty and at a reasonable price. I had a noodle dish (see eyew noodles) with chicken, which comes with salad and those little fried spring rolls and wontons. My husband had Pad Thai and said it was very good also. We like to finish that off with thai iced tea. The place is a favorite with locals and is a popular eatery for people working in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this Thai food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The best Thai food in San Diego. Love the quality and consistency. Never ate there, just taken it to go but no one can beat the delicious taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
1,370 helpful votes 1,370 helpful votes
“Totally average place.... Nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I never read any reviews before coming here. I went here with a friend to lunch and he picked this place as it was close to his office.

I just read some of the reviews and some are really horrible and some are really great. The truth is that it's somewhere in the middle. Absolutely nothing special at all and totally mediocre.

They have lunch specials. I just had Pad Thai the other day so I didn't get that. I ordered a sweet and sour pork dish and it was nothing special. Not horrible like some posts but I think there was only 3 small pieces of pork and it was overcooked.

I didn't find it unsanitary like another poster and the staff was friendly. But absolutely I'd never come back here again.

Another poster mentioned Mira Mesa so I think he has this place confused with some other restaurant with a similar name. This place is NOT in Mira Mesa. It's in Rancho Bernardo right off I-15 and Bernardo Center Drive.

Nothing to write home about...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went solo (out here on business). Wonder Thai food and very kind wait staff. Had the Penang curry shrimp and the House soup. Both were delicious. Quick, kind and tasty, what more can you ask for?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I just took my boss and his wife here for dinner. I chose this restaurant because it is consistently excellent and everything on the menu is tasty. The service is great and friendly. My boss loved the food and wanted to come back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pailin Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pailin Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.