We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #124 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
“Nice place for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice and close to all the area attractions. They have a free shuttle to and from the airport but it quits running at 8pm. The hotel shuttle to Sea World was nice. We took a cab to the rest of the attractions and it was never more that $20 with the tip included which was nice. Rosecrans St. out front is busy which we could hear from our room. We were upstairs in room 205 on the far West side fairly close to the street.The airplane noise was quite noticeable as well from the planes taking off. Started at 5am and lasted all day long. The continental breakfast is good and Eva is a great hostess and makes a great Belgian waffle! Dave at the front desk recommended some great seafood restaurants down on the harbor waterfront. Rachana at the front desk is a sweetheart. I think she was hitting on me a bit when I checked out!! lol Overall a good stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are delighted to hear our hotel is a “nice place”. As you mentioned, we are within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego Seaworld.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    215
    144
    44
    30
See reviews for
326
122
51
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nampa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Overall a nice place to stay except the walls seem to be paper thin. You are definately at the mercy of your neighbors. We had loud kids next door and every morning was a screaming match. Our hotel key only worked once, we had to get it rekeyed multiple times. The staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “nice stay”. Please know that your concerns are being brought to our staff’s attention so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. Thank you again for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Walls were thin .. bring ear plugs and stay on top floor. If you forget your earplugs they DO sell them in the lobby. Eva Kellar was a GREAT hostess as we were having breakfast. Kodo's to her! She, if anything , is what will bring me back. Thank you Eva!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend top floor and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear you received great service from our staff. We work hard to provide extraordinary quality service and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.