We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine Grad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #127 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    183
    134
    39
    27
See reviews for
285
111
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The bathroom smelled like sewer. We did not complain as we were there for only one night. You do need to fix, Room 126.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as well as it is invaluable to us. Please know that our staff will be notified so that this issue can be fixed immediately. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay and we hope that you reconsider and stay with us during your next trip. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Friendly helpfull staff, shuttle service for airport , MCRD activities ,sea world. Older hotel but clean , reasonably priced with breakfast buffet attached Mexican restaurant made it ideal for sons USMC graduation. Only knock was thin walls , but overall well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. First, we would like to congratulate you on your graduating marine! As you mentioned, we do provide a shuttle service going to and from the airport, MCRD and San Diego SeaWorld and are glad that you took advantage of that. We are also pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful because we do strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service. Thank you again for reviewing Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Go happy, go hojo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Room was okay. Bath towels were disgusting. The pillows were hard and gave me a headache the next day. Thought it was overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for investing some time in reviewing our hotel. We also appreciate you bringing up your concerns as your feedback is invaluable to us. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another shot so we can show you what our hotel has to offer. Thank you again for your feedback regarding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.