We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missouri Traveler” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   500 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Missouri Traveler”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was very disappointed! Maybe I did not read the description right, or maybe they expect you to read between the lines and I missed the point. I have stayed in older 'downtown' hotels several times and was always intrigued by their unique charm, I expected to hear noises such as water running through the pipes, creaking wood floors, and thin walls. I expected the looks of a once booming hotel of the 40's and 50's but not fitting in with today's modern styles. What I did not expect was dorm rooms with community bathrooms and showers. My immediate thought was that this hotel has the looks and feel of an old bordello.
The doors in the hall were painted over dozens of times, dark carpet (it might have been red but really cant remember) and when you enter the room you saw a twin size bed(s) on stilts - the kind you might find at a youth camp made out of 2 by 4's - with a mattress on top. The mattress was thicker and the thin bedspread and cover was clean. Overall the room was clean and included a little 20 inch TV.
The shower/bathroom was another experience. Now if you do not mind showering with hair on the floor and toilets wet from the previous user you might give this hotel a higher rating, unfortunately personally it's not my thing. Also, you open a shower with your key card but there is no way of telling if the shower/bathroom is occupied (other than hearing the water run), you need to make sure you lock the door from from the inside otherwise any person can walk in on you at any time. I would recommend this hotel for young people that are used to live in dorms but not so much for families or people with a little more expectation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
6
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are looking for a cheap option this can be good for you. But the staff is not friendly and not so efficient (they informed us a wrong value for our stay, trying to charge more than the correct price). The toilets are not clean. Every day that we used them they were filthy. The both elevators are out of service. About the localization, it is near Gas Lamp and Downtown and it's near the trolley station as well. I think it's worth if you are not looking for high quality, because it's very cheap and convenient. But don't expect much about the structure inside, the cleaning and the staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was originally skeptical to stay at this hotel because of some lower reviews, but after doing my research and learning that the hotel came under new management we decided to give it a chance because of the great location. I am glad we did because the service was much better than we expected and nothing similar to the other reviews. The indoor basketball court with the YMCA was a nice addition for my family. In all we were very happy with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I came to San Diego in hopes of finding a solid place to stay, all while maintaining my budget. I came across 500 West in Downtown San Diego and I must say that I made a great choice for my trip. First of all, location, location, location. I was able to walk to practically any part of Downtown which was quite a sight to see. The front desk staff was very helpful and made sure that my stay would be as pleasant as possible. They provided some useful tips on how to get my way around San Diego. Next, the rooms were just as I expected, nothing spectacular, but definitely had a comfortable nights sleep. Finally, the lobby area has a unique ambiance with its nice smell and good background music which does not make it so dull, unlike most other places I've stayed. Oh, and they also have a pool table which was pretty neat! Overall, my stay at 500 west was definitely one to remember and highly recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I needed a place to stay at for a week as my home was undergoing remodeling. It ended up being much more pleasant then expected. The location is phenomenal being in downtown only a few blocks from the docks. The staff there was incredibly nice and welcoming. The room was great for what I paid for. I slept thoroughly throughout the nights without interruption. Meals were convenient due to the great restaurant in the very same building near the lobby and other restaurants in the area. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 6 nights at the end of May 2014. We went with this hotel as although it was really cheap, it seemed to be in walking distance to the places we wanted to visit.

We have stayed in cheap hotels before with the same amenities, Communal Showers, etc, but never one like this. First off the lady on the front desk was rude when she asked for payment. I challenged her thinking I had already paid before arrival, mistake on my part as the confirmation upon booking never said anything about paying when I get there. Having checked my bank she was correct, but could have handled it in a better manor.

Second problem was the Wi-Fi was not working which as travellers from the UK, we relied on for info. When I asked the front desk I was told 'it's broken' without an explanation. When I asked again they said it would be fixed before the weekend, it wasn't. Luckily there are many cafés, bars, restaurants with Wi-Fi so we just had to use them.

The room we got put in was dirty, my girlfriend would not put her bare feet on the filthy looking carpet, the walls were stained but the bedding seemed to be clean so we could sleep at least. The room was a corner room with windows on 2 walls, it was very very noisy! We would have requested a court yard room had we known. The showers were basic but seemed to be cleaned every day to an average standard, although on several occasions there was no hot water and we had to get icy cold showers. There was also some sort of little fly family that seemed to be nesting in most of the showers.

I would not recommend staying here unless you are on a tight budget, it is in a great location on Broadway, not too far to walk to the Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village, etc but there will be other hotels closer to these places for just a little more money. When we return we will be looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a court yard room to block out street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestSD, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Richard,

We truly do appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a candid review. We do agree that our hotel is a great value and its location is nearly unmatched in Downtown San Diego. As you experienced, we are just a short walk to Seaport Village, the Gaslamp District, and many other sights here in Downtown.

Our main focus, since acquiring the hotel just a few short months ago, has been the cleanliness of the rooms, common areas, and the restrooms. In the past week alone, we combed every single inch of the property to deliver a product people expect—welcoming, clean, and refreshing.
It’s regrettable that your stay wasn't more enjoyable. Our wifi did has some recent disruptions in service; we apologize for this and regret that this wasn't communicated better. We worked around the clock with vendors and service providers to get that service back online, which it was in short order.

Lastly, please do accept our apology for any unpleasant interaction you may have experienced with any of our associates. We stress the highest levels of customer service with each and every one of our associates and staff members and expect nothing but the highest of industry standards in the regard. On your next visit to San Diego, please do stop on by and you’ll find the friendliest and most helpful staff in Downtown.

At any hotel, on any trip, never hesitate to reach out to an associate on site with any feedback or to report things that do not meet your expectations. We’ll always do our best to make sure that your expectations aren't just met, but exceeded.

Best wishes on your future travels,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I first booked here because of the price. When I arrived I was greeted by the front desk staff (who where very nice) and the check in was smooth. On my way to my room i noticed the hallway carpet was recently cleaned and there was a very nice smell. I couldn't put my finger on it but it was nice. I stayed one of the smaller rooms with a communal bathroom. I am used to this sort of set up, my father was stationed in Germany and i have visited many hotels much like this one. For the price and location to the "gas lamp" district i have to say that i had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestSD, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Diad_B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We’re glad you were greeted by one of our friendly associates. We constantly stress delivering authentic and memorable interactions with all of our guests.

We’re glad you noticed the cleanliness of the property. Since we took over ownership and management just a few months ago, we have made this our highest priority and we’ve seen marked improvement through invaluable feedback from our many, many guests.

We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 500 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 500 West, an affordable, upscale hostel in downtown San Diego, California. Enjoy comfortable, contemporary lodging, first-class service and a wide of array of amenities designed to please both convention travelers and budget vacationers. The hotel's ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego. That puts the finest shopping, dining and entertainment options all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.