We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   500 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I needed a place to stay at for a week as my home was undergoing remodeling. It ended up being much more pleasant then expected. The location is phenomenal being in downtown only a few blocks from the docks. The staff there was incredibly nice and welcoming. The room was great for what I paid for. I slept thoroughly throughout the nights without interruption. Meals were convenient due to the great restaurant in the very same building near the lobby and other restaurants in the area. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
4
7
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 6 nights at the end of May 2014. We went with this hotel as although it was really cheap, it seemed to be in walking distance to the places we wanted to visit.

We have stayed in cheap hotels before with the same amenities, Communal Showers, etc, but never one like this. First off the lady on the front desk was rude when she asked for payment. I challenged her thinking I had already paid before arrival, mistake on my part as the confirmation upon booking never said anything about paying when I get there. Having checked my bank she was correct, but could have handled it in a better manor.

Second problem was the Wi-Fi was not working which as travellers from the UK, we relied on for info. When I asked the front desk I was told 'it's broken' without an explanation. When I asked again they said it would be fixed before the weekend, it wasn't. Luckily there are many cafés, bars, restaurants with Wi-Fi so we just had to use them.

The room we got put in was dirty, my girlfriend would not put her bare feet on the filthy looking carpet, the walls were stained but the bedding seemed to be clean so we could sleep at least. The room was a corner room with windows on 2 walls, it was very very noisy! We would have requested a court yard room had we known. The showers were basic but seemed to be cleaned every day to an average standard, although on several occasions there was no hot water and we had to get icy cold showers. There was also some sort of little fly family that seemed to be nesting in most of the showers.

I would not recommend staying here unless you are on a tight budget, it is in a great location on Broadway, not too far to walk to the Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village, etc but there will be other hotels closer to these places for just a little more money. When we return we will be looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a court yard room to block out street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestSD, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Richard,

We truly do appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a candid review. We do agree that our hotel is a great value and its location is nearly unmatched in Downtown San Diego. As you experienced, we are just a short walk to Seaport Village, the Gaslamp District, and many other sights here in Downtown.

Our main focus, since acquiring the hotel just a few short months ago, has been the cleanliness of the rooms, common areas, and the restrooms. In the past week alone, we combed every single inch of the property to deliver a product people expect—welcoming, clean, and refreshing.
It’s regrettable that your stay wasn't more enjoyable. Our wifi did has some recent disruptions in service; we apologize for this and regret that this wasn't communicated better. We worked around the clock with vendors and service providers to get that service back online, which it was in short order.

Lastly, please do accept our apology for any unpleasant interaction you may have experienced with any of our associates. We stress the highest levels of customer service with each and every one of our associates and staff members and expect nothing but the highest of industry standards in the regard. On your next visit to San Diego, please do stop on by and you’ll find the friendliest and most helpful staff in Downtown.

At any hotel, on any trip, never hesitate to reach out to an associate on site with any feedback or to report things that do not meet your expectations. We’ll always do our best to make sure that your expectations aren't just met, but exceeded.

Best wishes on your future travels,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I first booked here because of the price. When I arrived I was greeted by the front desk staff (who where very nice) and the check in was smooth. On my way to my room i noticed the hallway carpet was recently cleaned and there was a very nice smell. I couldn't put my finger on it but it was nice. I stayed one of the smaller rooms with a communal bathroom. I am used to this sort of set up, my father was stationed in Germany and i have visited many hotels much like this one. For the price and location to the "gas lamp" district i have to say that i had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestSD, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Diad_B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We’re glad you were greeted by one of our friendly associates. We constantly stress delivering authentic and memorable interactions with all of our guests.

We’re glad you noticed the cleanliness of the property. Since we took over ownership and management just a few months ago, we have made this our highest priority and we’ve seen marked improvement through invaluable feedback from our many, many guests.

We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach Ca
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Do not even think about it, do not book a room here.
I booked this hotel thru one of the online travel sites, it was listed as a great deal. And I felt it was a great deal since it is located in Downtown San Diego, in the Gas lamp district. So great location, great rate...it could not be that good to be true. The hotel is not what it shows in the photos, bathrooms are not in every room, security is non-existent and appears as if the location is a focal point for transients looking for trouble.
My wife and her friend attending a funeral were to use the hotel, once I learned of the problems immediately called the Westin and got a room there. And the difference in cost was only about $70
HUGE MISTAKE MADE WITH THIS BOOKING

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestManagement, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Humberto,

Thank you for taking the time to candidly review our hotel. While we strive to please each and every guest, it is regrettable you did not enjoy your stay at 500 W. Broadway. We are a new management group that took over ownership and we have begun several new initiatives to improve and refresh the property, so these unfortunate experiences you described will be a thing of the past. Our location in Downtown San Diego is superb due to its proximity to the Embarcadero, Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, and many other sights.

In the future, we encourage you to book directly on our website as it accurately portrays the amenities and services of the property. We cannot always verify the accuracy of information from third party properties.

Best of luck in your future travels.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place was cheap for a reason. All the other hotels around this area charge 3-4 times as much a night for a room. It's a communal bathroom set up, but they are stalls and not like a mass open area like dorm rooms so you do get your privacy. You just have to walk a little bit from your room for it. This place could use some upkeep though. The carpet was stained and the paint could use touch up. If they fixed that up, I think people wouldn't give it such bad reviews. Surprisingly, the bed wasn't too bad either. I slept alright on it. The location was great. It was only a half mile to the main Gaslamp area, but be warned that parking in this area sucks. Half the street spots are no parking from 3-6am for street sweeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestManagement, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear liquimj,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the 500 West Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are already actively refreshing many of the public areas, including those you mentioned. This is a part of several new initiatives that we have begun since our arrival as new ownership and management since May. On your next visit, you will experience many welcome changes to the property.

Parking is difficult as in any major downtown area, but come and speak to us at the front desk and we’ll point you to some great garages and lots nearby.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Room & corridor smelled of urine, complained to reception but they appeared highly unmotivated or bothered. Only 1 lift working. Accosted by ?homeless people or occupants - it was hard to tell with some of the clientele! Unisex 'private' bathrooms were not clean & no en suite, despite wording on various websites, I was with a friend and would def not recommend arriving solo as does not feel safe. I have stayed in numerous hostels around the world and this ranks in one of the worst...Avoid, avoid, avoid!!! Gas lamp quarter is like benidorm or Blackpool on a weekend so don't even recommend this area. Parking is in nearby parking lot & not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestManagement, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear clairetwo,

Allow us to apologize for the unfortunate experience you described about your recent stay. We take such experiences very seriously and have been diligently working to address and rectify your concerns. Guest safety and cleanliness are our highest priorities. Please, in all future travel, make sure to notify any manager or staff member while on site to these issues. In regards to our property, we have recently undertook some changes to the hotel that should altogether avoid experiences that you did describe. This is due to our new ownership and management of the property since May of this year.

In the future, we encourage you to book directly on our website as it accurately portrays the amenities and services of the property. We cannot always verify the accuracy of information from third party properties.

Lastly, we’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit to the Gaslamp District. As one of the most visited areas in California, it’s a place special to us San Diegans. On your next trip to San Diego, we hope you enjoy America’s Finest City more!

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Totally misled and misrepresented!!!! Sold as a twin room with private bathroom in a hybrid hotel!!!! With photos that appeared clean but basic. Turned up to find filthy carpets throughout that our shoes stuck to and smelled of urine. Shared unisex bathrooms that were also filthy. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
500WestManagement, Manager at 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Pinkchic72,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this frank and candid review. Please accept our apology for not enjoying your stay at our hotel. Did you have a chance to voice your concerns to any of our team members while you were on property? We address each and every complaint a guest encounters and we work to correct the problem on the spot. Be assured we are working diligently to correct and seriously address your concerns. As new ownership and management of this hotel, we are taking several initiatives to improve upon and revamp the property.

Best of luck in your future travels in San Diego.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 500 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 500 West, an affordable, upscale hostel in downtown San Diego, California. Enjoy comfortable, contemporary lodging, first-class service and a wide of array of amenities designed to please both convention travelers and budget vacationers. The hotel's ideally located in the heart of downtown San Diego. That puts the finest shopping, dining and entertainment options all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 500 West Hotel San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.