We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service but no pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and service but no pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We took the entire family to San Diego Zoo, Sea World and San Diego Safari. The hotel was ten minutes from the Airport, Zoo and Sea World. This hotel was steps away from Petco Stadium and the Historic Gaslamp District. Lots of great dining options along 5th Street.
I was surprised they did not have a swimming pool. I was able to get free parking with my AAA card.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello PCBennett,

We are pleased that you and your family had a comfortable stay and found our location convenient to many of the attractions and dining in San Diego.

All the best,
Dante M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    326
    76
    23
    13
See reviews for
135
237
64
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to San Diego to catch a Padres game and see the sites. I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Room was comfortable, the only real problem was the television was positioned too low to see from the beds, but that wasn't a huge deal. In walking distance of just about everything coastal. If I find myself in San Diego again, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! The Marriott Gaslamp Quarter is definitely the best Marriott location for those catching a Padres game or seeing San Diego's main attractions. We look forward to your visit back to San Diego!

All the best,
Dante M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was perfect! I traveled with my two teenage kids and the hotel was right in the heart of everything. The rooms were large for an "in city" hotel, we were on the Concierge level and the service was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous. We never did make it to try the hors doeurves in the afternoons but the evening desserts were tasty

Hotel staff very accommodating and friendly. Just a nice overall experience

Room Tip: Book the concierge level and partake in all the provided services offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Tammir,

On behalf of the entire staff, we greatly appreciate your positive review of us! The Concierge Staff especially extends their thanks. We're glad you found the rooms spacious and comfortable for being in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, and easily accessible to other San Diego attractions.

All the best,
Dante M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

For the start of a vacation this Marriott exceedd all expectations.
It's in a very convenient area. Within walking distance of the fifth ave
Gas lamp district. Many bars and restaurants in this busy area.
Also close to the convention center and the beautiful marina.
It is literally 100 feet to Petco Park. We went to a game and it was
An excellent win for the padres. Now as for the Marriott everyone was
exceptionally nice. The hotel was spotless and had all the amanities you
needed except a pool. The concierge level is opened for elite platinum and I believe gold members
all weekend long for breakfast. With an excellent variety of food fruits, and breads.
Great bacon and eggs. Very friendly and hospitable.
Maid service was excellent and they have a nighttime turn down service.
With a couple of mints.
Now you should go to the rooftop bar called altitude as it is just a fabulous view
You can watch a game or see the sights of San Diego.
Music is good but it does get crowded especially at night.
I am a longtime loyal Marriott customer and this certainly ranks at the top.

Room Tip: The higher the better and ask to have a view of the ball park. Make you you go to the roof top bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Summersnuggles,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time staying with us! Even without the pool, we appreciate the rave reviews. With the closeness to Petco Park, the Gaslamp Quarter, and extended Concierge services, we definitely take pride in serving our guests and in what we have to offer them. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back to San Diego!

All the best,
Dante M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Marriott Garland Quarter is located right next to the ballpark, and has an awesome rooftop bar. It probably boasts some of the best views in the city! Definitely enjoyed my stay
here. I highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review and recommendation. We definitely agree with you that the views from our hotel, especially from our rooftop bar Altitude, are the best in the city. The staff here is pleased you had such a wonderful stay.

All the best,
Dante M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at for a number of reasons:

1) Centrally located in Gaslamp, walking distance to the San Diego Convention Center and overlooks Petco Park (if you're lucky, you don't even need to buy a baseball game ticket; just book the right room with a view!)
2) The rooftop bar is amazing! Non-hotel guests come here on a regular. The drinks are good and there are fire pits and plenty of seating available. You can't beat the view (of Petco Park!), and a lot of good-looking people come here to drink.
3) Nice amenities, comfortable beds...it's a Marriott!

The only downside is parking is $24, but it is garaged. And the Wi-Fi is not free.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Petco Park if you want a free view of the game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello buffy0182,

We're glad you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your review of our hotel, and also our rooftop bar Altitude! As you mentioned, it is a popular bar/lounge in the Gaslamp Quarter not only for our guests staying with us but with locals as well. We hope the next you're back in San Diego we are able to welcome you back as a guest or visiting Altitude.

All the best,
Dante M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The roof top bar didn't accept completely valid European IDs. We are both 40 years - and were surprised about the hostile and unfriendly reception. Below Marriott standards. We are Marriott elite members and offered them to check with the reception. This was refused. The manager on duty July 28 was not willing to share his name.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director of Food and Beverage at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear TSCPH,

My sincere apologies for the reception that you received while attempting to visit our lounge, Altitude. Our policy is to check identification for anyone who appears under the age of 35 and unfortunately we do not accept any foreign ID cards or driver license's as we are not familiar with those ID's but do accept all passports. Nonetheless you should have been treated with respect and kindness no matter the situation. I will address this immediately with my bar and security staff to insure this does not happen in the future and once again my sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to give us your honest and appreciated feedback.

Sean Mattix
Director of Food & Beverage
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.